We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LandMark Inn

LandMark Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
LandMark Inn
Save
You added LandMark Inn to your Saves list
189 South Penn, Po Box 162, Oberlin, KS 67749   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed this unique Inn. Gary is a friendly host. We were able to relax after a long drive and recharge for our next day's journey. The Victorian decor is amazing. The attention to detail which went into the 6-year restoration of this place is inspiring. Breakfast was wonderful in the restaurant on the first floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family and I stayed in the Carriage House Loft Suite - this was the perfect suite for us as there are two rooms with beds so my kids could have their own room! The suite was clean and spacious. We even had a sitting area outside our suite for reading or watching TV.

Gary was super nice and very attentive to any requests that we had. Breakfast was wonderful and filling.

We stayed in many hotels during our trip, and this was by far the best, especially in cleanliness, value and service.

There is also a cute little gift shop next to the restaurant that has unique jewelry and other keepsake type items.

Room Tip: We toured all the rooms, and they were all very nice. Our other choice with two beds was the cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I spent one night in the Courtyard Suite while we were traveling. We chose this room since it was on the first floor outside of the main building and had a hot tub. If we would have known better, we would have chosen a room located in the main building. Our room wasn't quite what we were expecting. We encountered a lot of issues involving the water and the plumbing. Things were so bad during our stay that we encountered sediment/rust in the water and an overflowing toilet. The owner told us something about the city flushing out the water system in the area. It just really turned our stomachs to see so much rust in the water when we filled up the hot tub. We just couldn't get rid of the rust. It really seemed like the rooms located in the main building were much nicer than our room. We also didn't hear anybody else mentioning anything about water or plumbing issues. We sure wouldn't want to experience something like this again. We learned our lesson during this stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outwestcat, Owner at LandMark Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Just a quick note that the guest complained about an overflowing toilet. Usually toilets are plugged because a guest used too much paper. This is a little out of Innkeepers control. The addition and old bank building restoration were built exactly the same time so the plumbing and fixtures are identical to the other rooms throughout the building. Regarding the jacuzzi as she indicated she was told about the problem with the city flushing the water tower which allows rust to settle in horizontal lines in jacuzzi. The next time its used rust can accumulate in the bottom of tub until its rinsed out. As she points out none of the other guests complained that evening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1221 Ninth Avenue, Greeley, Colorado 80631
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Travelling cross country, we stumbled upon The Landmark Inn. Gary was friendly, stayed up late to greet us and even reccommended a great restaurant 100 miles away for us to stop at en route!

An historic property in a small town... a great find!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We travel to Western Kansas often, and were looking for someplace to stay that would be a special treat. THis is a beautiful, historic bank building refurbished beautifully. The rooms are elegant and spacious. And the restaurant's food is terrific. There's even a gift boutique. This is easily as nice as any fine B&B you'll find in a larger city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
502traveler
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

I stayed here one night with a business colleague. We were traveling in Western Kansas and were desperately trying to find at least a decent motel, and were certain that something with internet was nowhere to be found. Then we came across the Landmark Inn, what a surprise. Not only was the hotel/b&b top notch, but the service was excellent and there was free wi-fi. Gary really knows how to take care of you!

My room was very spacious and comfortable. I had no problems with noise or temperature. The sauna downstairs was incredibly relaxing. The next morning, we had a wonderfully prepared breakfast and some really good coffee!

The minute you walk in the doors, the wonderfully coordinated historic decor and superb staff makes The Landmark Inn truly stand out. It provided the much-needed recovery from staying at a Holiday Inn Express the night before, at a better rate!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

I am a former classmate of the owner. I had the privilege of staying there for 90 days for a business assignment.
The lunch menu is as good as it gets! And the house (double-nut) coffee is to die for!
Don't forget the homemade pies and desserts!
Gary and his staff are superlative in all ways. Very unique, authentic, Victorian decor .
You will love it!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LandMark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LandMark Inn

Address: 189 South Penn, Po Box 162, Oberlin, KS 67749
Location: United States > Kansas > Oberlin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LandMark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.