We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and pet friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1430 E Broadway Court, Newton, KS 67114   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent and pet friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our rooms were clean and comfortable with sleek, modern decor and lots of nice little touches, like individual reading lamps and a clock radio that had an mp3 input. My large dog was welcome with a ten dollar pet fee. The only minor complaint we had was the relative dimness of the bathroom light.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Jandcritter,
I'm glad you had a great stay. We love pets here. I'm sorry the bathroom lighting wasn't enough for you. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
7
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park Hill
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

clean
friendly
outstanding staff
best place to stay in Newton
this is the second time in two weeks we have stayed here
we also have booked a room for Thanksgiving
we have stayed in every property in Newton in the past, we will never have to look again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here during the State Fair. Motel as easy access to I-135. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Everything was clean (even the parking lot!). Food was the typical HIE fare (good). The attendant kept the food fresh and always refilled. Would definetely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very dependable place to stay. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is satisfying and convenient. This is a great place for all travelers - business or pleasure. I've stay here multiple times and will continue to do so when I'm in the area. The only complaint I have is that the cleaning person knocked on my door at 8:45 even though I was scheduled for a late checkout.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I'm so very sorry you were disturbed so early in the morning. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. Please accept my sincere apologies. Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My family stayed in this hotel for two nights (Th 08/30 - Sa 09/01). I booked by phone and received a discount (~20%) because I was a guest of the wedding. This hotel was recommended because it is adjacent to the "Meridian Center" convention hall that was used for the wedding reception. I was very pleased/surprised by the modern look and feel of the hotel and convention hall. Both facilities were impressive for a city the size of Newton.

This HI is a smaller intimate location with 3 floors and approx 16 rooms per floor. We booked two weeks in advance and were able to request a 1st floor room. Our room #108 had two queen beds (with 4 pillows each), desk and chair, mini-fridge, TV, dresser, open closet area, and blinds that could make the room almost pitch black in the middle of a sunny day. Our room was not crowded, was well decorated and very quiet. Either we had no neighboring guests, or the insulation between rooms is great. Our room was not at either end of the building, so we couldn't hear guests entering/leaving through the side doors which tend to slam closed. I felt bad every time I would come and go and forget to keep the door from slamming. I assume guests can hear this in nearby rooms, but could be wrong.

I visited other members of the wedding party on the 2nd and 3rd floor. I used the elevator and multiple stairways. Each of the rooms and facilities I saw were very clean. The bride and groom had a corner room on the 3rd floor with a nice view.

You can see this location from the I-135 and Broadway roundabout, which makes it easy to find. The hotel is far enough away from the interstate that road noise does not seem to be an issue. Our room was facing away from the interstate and we could not hear any road noise. We could hear some noise while visiting on the back patio one evening, but the noise was not excessive or distracting.

We were impressed with their breakfast, which included eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, hot cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, several milks, orange juice, and several other juices.

Their free internet access worked fine. Their wireless password was their zip code.

We did not request room service/cleaning since we were only staying for two nights.

Their back patio is a nice place to visit with others. The patio has a handful of tables and chairs. You can see the indoor swimming pool when you are walking out to the patio. The pool looked inviting. I wish we had known about the pool in advance, but we didn't even realize they had one until we saw it from the patio.

We had problems opening our room door with our assigned key cards. The cards gave us some trouble the first day, so they assigned new cards. The cards stopped working completely the second day, and new cards did not fix the problem. The hotel staff was very helpful and tried replacing the lock but we continued to have problems. Their master key worked fine, but they confirmed that guest key cards were not working. They definitely tried to resolve the problem. When they could not resolve the issue, they offered to open our door as needed or move us to a different room. Our room was near the front desk, so we just asked them to open our door the few times we needed into the room. The front desk communicated the key issue across shifts very well, as each new person we talked to knew about the issue and was happy to open our door. They automatically provided us with additional discounts for our trouble. Very nice of them!

Other than the minor inconveniences related to the key cards, we were very pleased with this location. No one else we spoke to had key card issues, so this seems to be an isolated incident. We would gladly book with this location again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the HI Express for 2 nights in April for a wedding. The hotel exceeded our expectations on many levels. First the hotel is in tip-top shape, with large rooms and nice decor. Second, the spacious lobby provides a comfortable place to relax during the day. Finally, the breakfast is excellent (and free) with good service by the attendant.

My only ideas for improvement would be to add a jacuzzi to the pool area and add some weights to the exercise room, as it was bit sparse with just cardio equipment. However, this may be an HI Express Corporate build out issue rather than a specific property comment.

Overall, this hotel is an excellent value for the money paid. If we were ever back around Newton, we would enjoy staying at this property again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

What a deal! The Holiday Inn Express in Newton was nice and new and a steal of a deal. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the walls were thick enough that you didn't have to hear your neighbors. Free breakfast had lots of options--including fresh fruit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton

Address: 1430 E Broadway Court, Newton, KS 67114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Newton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.