We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality stay at reasonable rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 EAST Frontage Rd., Kansas City South -Exit# 228B, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Trivandrum, Kerala, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“quality stay at reasonable rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days this december. I didnt book in advance, just dropped in and got a basic room. It had a queen bed, a big tv, a small fridge and a microwave. The room was nothing big, but just enough if you are on your own. I had stayed at Extended stay america , at Lisle Cchicago before coming to Kansas city for a similar rate. Compared to Extended stay america the room and the refrigerator were smaller, but not a deal breaker, when u r staying alone for a few days.

The best thing about comfort inn was the warm nature of the front desk staff and they were flexible to give me a discount when i extended my stay to 4 days. It has laundry room where you can get your clothes done on your own.

I would recommend Comfort Inn, if you are looking for a cozy and minimal comfort,

The location was good as it had a few restaurants at walkable distance. The complimentary breakfast was better when compared to Extended stay america.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    6
    7
    10
See reviews for
12
8
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My family stayed for four nights at this hotel. We used the outdoor pool a lot the first two days. It could use a few more lounge chairs and the water was cold but the sun was shining so it was refreshing during the day. Our room seemed crowded compared to rooms in other Comfort Inns with two queen beds. The room also seemed dark and the internet was too slow for our mobile devices. Breakfast was good but we seldom eat the waffles that are provided at most Choice hotels anymore as they seem too dense to taste good. We had trouble finding the hotel with our GPS which took us to a different location. In addition, the road to the hotel was in the process of being repaved which made the drive to and from the hotel a little bumpy.

Room Tip: Non-smoking rooms are better since residual odors in the furnishings are usually not there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Knob, MO.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night, two rooms. Not real clean, tub had mildew under lip of trim where it was obvious it never gets cleaned. Hairs from previous guest in tub also. Rooms need new carpet badly. Bed was clean though, and comfy. Wireless internet never did allow us to connect. Clientele was a little spooky, expected to hear all night partying, but actually very quiet. Did not eat breakfast, but smelled good in the hallway! Clerk was helpful and friendly. Overall, it was ok, place to get a decent nights rest which is what we payed for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice hotel with a great staff. I can't say enough nice things about the lady that runs the breakfast in the morning. She was so nice and pleasant every morning. The room was very comfortable with a nice flat screen tv. The bed was comfortable and had a bunch of pillows. The hotel was completely booked up yet it was still nice an quite. Shower was nice and hot. Another pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and the room was nice. My door was hard to bolt shut, and since I was there by myself I definitely wanted it locked. other than that it was great. .........................................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I used Choice Privileges points to stay here, but I doubt I would pay for it otherwise. The good things about the hotel: easy access to the I-35 highway and 15 minutes on the parkway to the Plaza; Denny's, Krispy Kreme, and lots of food options close by; small pool with good access looked nice; breakfast was the usual, but kept well-stocked; easy parking; pretty good TV channels; refrig. and micro in room; clean bathroom. The adequate things about the hotel: host didn't acknowledge me being a Choice Privileges member upon check-in (pretentious??--nope, that's what they should do); stains on chair in room; pillows were waaaaaaay too soft; it looked like stuff from the ceiling or wall was all over the carpet next to the wall, as if it had not been vacuumed thoroughly; indifferent staff the next morning (too busy chatting it up with another staff member) when asked about a newspaper. If you get a good deal, then I would advise staying here, otherwise, look around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy

Address: 6401 EAST Frontage Rd., Kansas City South -Exit# 228B, Merriam, KS 66202 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Merriam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Merriam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated (former Comfort Inn) hotel offers FULL HOT Breakfast including Sausage Links, Biscuits and Gravy, Multiple Flavors of Yogurt, Boiled Eggs & Patties, Make your own HOT 2 Flavor Pancakes, Fresh Fruits, Orange and Apple juice along with Fruit Punch, Tea and Coffee, Danish, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Merriam
Merriam Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn I-35/Shawnee Mission Pkwy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.