We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ in USA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smoke Hoss

Smoke Hoss
808 West Carthage St, Meade, KS 67864
(620) 873-5101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Meade
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Columbia, SC
1 review
“Best BBQ in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had JR and Kristy cater the rehearsal dinner for my son's wedding. They were so helpful and very competitive in their pricing for such a catered event. They offer BBQ of several kinds of meat at several homemade BBQ sauces. I used to work in a BBQ restaurant and have had BBQ from across the South... I know a thing or two about BBQ. This was tops. Their Brisket was the best, most tender and juicy I have had. If you are in Southwest Kansas, you won't want to miss this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liberal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best food in Southwest Kansas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been to Smoke Hoss many times and there is no better place to eat in Southwest Kansas. The workers are pleasant, the food is great, and you can't beat the prices. It fits any type of traveler's need, from truck drivers wanting a quick meal to families looking to sit down and rest for a while. I give Smoke Hoss my best grades!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I almost passed this place by because it looks unpromising from the outside. Inside are a few Formica tables and kitchen chairs. But the food-- wow! I had ribs. Perfectly smoked, meat falling off the bone, juicy and full of flavor. I've never seen so much meat on pork ribs. The pork is local, the staff friendly, the cole slaw excellent. A gem in the middle of nowhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a nice little restaruant. A little more upscale than the other places in town

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great tasting pork bbq sandwiches. Would eat there again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke Hoss also viewed

 

Been to Smoke Hoss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smoke Hoss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.