We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn - Marysville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Tree Inn - Marysville to your Saves list
Oak Tree Inn - Marysville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1127 Pony Express Blvd., US 36 East, Marysville, KS 66508   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Brookings, South Dakota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The price and convenient classic diner were fantastic, and the room was good, comparible to Super 8, but the springs in the mattress kept poking me and gave me a soar back. The Pony Express museum in Marysville is great. Excellent fitness center, but no pool.

Room Tip: We opted for the $59 room and maybe the $69 rooms had better beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn - Marysville, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for your reivew. We apologize for your experience with the mattress. We will look into this room and mattress condition. We are glad you enjoyed the museum in Marysville. We hope to see you as a guest again at our facility. Thank you for your busiess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
8
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

During our stay at the Oak Tree Inn we were placed in the portion of the hotel. In the room we assigned in the old building we encountered someone’s dried snot on the headboard and worn, stained sheets. Therefore, we requested a different room. The new room’s linens were thin and had holes in places. The room was not clean (hairballs in corner). Everything looked run-down and worn but mostly functional (lock on bathroom door broken, hole in shower curtain, etc.). The staff was not overly friendly. I would say that the best part of the hotel was the full breakfast at Penny’s diner.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, Manager at Oak Tree Inn - Marysville, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We sincerely apolgize for your recent experience. We will address the issues you noted and we will work hard to make improvements where needed. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marysville hotels

fortville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Like the title says the room was nice and clean and fresh smelling. The staff at this motel did their job well but that was it. Robots would be a good replacement for the ones we had to deal with. Penny's diner out front is a quaint little restaurant with average food and prices.We travel through this area about three times a year so we will stay here again. Our little dog slept well also.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Wasn't expecting much based on the town, and usually small hotels echo.their surroundings.

New rooms, easy access and authentic-looking 50's diner out front make this a pleasant place to stay. The only complaint I have is the spotty-at-best wireless WiFi service. Complimentary breakfast in the diner rounds out a great stay, but don't look for anything local for entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Have stayed here many times for family visits. Usually ask for the "new" section, but have never had any complaints about the rooms, always ready for us, nice staff!!

Room Tip: Ask for the NEW section - the railroad crews stay in the older part!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I'd read a review online about all the train personnel that stay at the hotel and was a little concerned that it was going to be noisy but it was one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed in. The room was well decorated, clean and comfortable. The room came with a complimentary breakfast at Penny's Diner right in front of the hotel. The restaurant was great too. Good food, friendly staff and fun atmosphere. Just about a mile away from the park where the black squirels live. Check out the great kids park in town.

Room Tip: Before booking online, call the hotel to see if they have any specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I had never stayed at this chain before. It's a good bargain. The room was quite comfortable. They give you a coupon for breakfast at the diner that sits in front of the motel. There are three separate buildings. The one I was in had a nice little covered "back porch" with some rockers, which was nice to use on a summer evening. They have a contract with the railroad, so a lot of the guests were workers. No pool, which I would have used after a hot day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn - Marysville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn - Marysville

Address: 1127 Pony Express Blvd., US 36 East, Marysville, KS 66508
Location: United States > Kansas > Marysville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn - Marysville 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Oak Tree Inn - Marysville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Inn - Marysville Hotel Marysville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn - Marysville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.