We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Overpriced Food and Wine in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar - CLOSED

4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar
3033 Anderson Ave, Manhattan, KS 66503 ‎
+1 785-539-1295
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seth Childs and Anderson Ave.
Description: 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artisan cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary-American menu with global influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott’s wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits with over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 800 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave.
Manhattan, KS
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Overpriced Food and Wine in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

There are many places to eat badly in Manhattan KS, in fact very few to eat well. I don't like being gouged, so when I eat out locally I usually settle for low-cost no-frills eateries with passable food. But if I'm hosting an out-of-town guest and want to be sure to get a quality meal in an acceptable atmosphere, my only practical choice is 4 Olives. I can't claim they've served me the best dinners I've ever eaten, but they do serve the best dinners in this town. Food and drink are both overpriced, and those with lumberjack appetites might find the portions skimpy, but they do take food prep seriously and do consistently provide really tasty fare, which takes much of the sting out of the bill.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    50
    8
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Not Recommended"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We visited 4 Olives for the first time to experience "fine dining" and was disappointed. The food was over-priced and so-so in flavors. The restuarant had cheap tables and chairs and white table cloths would help the atmosphere. The staff was dressed in black pants/white shirts and their clothes were wrinkle and sloppy looking. The staff lacked professionalism. Our waiter was nice and attentive - the greeters were horrible. We took our daughter who ordered the lobster ravioli. There were only two ravioli in the dish - - needless to say, when we left she asked to be taken to Burger King (right up the street) since she was still hungry. Our bill totaled $105.00; I would have rather went to Ray's Apple Mart (grocery store in the same area) and purchased groceries and cooked at home. I would not recommend this resturant to anyone visiting the area or living in the general vicinity of Manhattan, KS. If you want a decent meal, check other local resturants in the area. Harry's on Poyntz Ave in Manhattan is fine dining and well worth your time and money.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenneth B, Owner at 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Anthony, We’re sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your experience with us. The ravioli dish is incredibly popular with the majority of our guests, and most people find it so rich and decedent that 4 raviolis are plenty sufficient to fill them up. We want the atmosphere to be a bit more casual, so we don’t usually use table cloths, but we do have them, and would be happy to have your table set with one at your request. Your concerns about the rest of your visit have been noted. Sincerely, Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just O.K”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A bit pricey but did have meal specials. Service was just so-so.Our waitress was more interested in being cute with the boys in the table next to us then waiting and helping us. Probably won't go back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We've visited 4 Olives on about five separate occasions, for both regular evening meals and a special wine tasting, and have never been disappointed. The beef dishes, especially, melt in your mouth, although as I'm typing this I remember a sea scallop appetizer that was the best ever. Desserts are exceptional, too--try the toffee. The wine list is, of course, one of the best you'll find in the region. The only drawback is the rather shabby strip mall setting, but the restaurateur has compensated with a tasteful interior and the wonderful food. Don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Small dining experrience but the food and drinks will blow you away

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4 Olives Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.