We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is slow” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talk of the Town Grill

Talk of the Town Grill
5201 West 135th Street, Leawood, KS 66224
913 851 7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 89 Restaurants in Leawood
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Service is slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went on a Monday night at around 7pm. It took over 10 minutes before we even saw our waitress. Drink orders were slow. Food order was also slow. I would hate to see what it is like there on a busy Friday or Saturday night. We never saw management making a presence while eating there either.

Overall the food was good though. It is your typical bar fare. The staff didn't seem too concerned that we were always waiting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Dull food, slow service, and that's the good news”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This nicely located restaurant is not much more than fast food served in a decent sports bar space. But even the sports bar feel is not great as the TVs are hard to see and hear and no one seems all that interested in the games.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Better than the Original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

After years at their first location at 119th and Quivera, Talk of the Town Grill has expanded to 135th & Roe/Nall. Having visited the original location for over 20-years I was interested in seeing what they have done with their new addition. From the first day, their parking lot was full and there was a wait time whenever we went by. Good for them! Went by for lunch on a Saturday to meet with a friend for business. Free open WiFi access! I wish they would advertise this as it is a draw for business customers. I had to ask the hostess. They have wide screen HD TVs throughout the interior of the restaurant and two exterior patios. We found the menu had more variety than the original location with a wide selection of beers and full bar. There are many things that I prefer about the original location; however, I do not think you will be disappointed with the addition, unless of course you pick a night where the parking lot is full and there is a wait time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shaky opening - Terrible Beans”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My family and I went to the new Talk of the Town grill in Overland Park, KS in early December. Unfortunately it was opening weekend and we did not know it. The restaurant was formerly a Ted's Montana Grill restaurant. The new owners have done very little to change the decor, added some TVs and that is about it. It was a classier place as a Ted's Montana Grill. The tables must have been refinished because they reeked of varnish or some type of new finish. It is hard to eat when every inhale brings a varnish smell. Hopefully the smell will die down after a few weeks.

The food was marginal. Two in our party ordered buffalo chicken sandwiches. The sandwiches were so spicy that they could not be eaten. I ordered a side of baked beans. They were the most pitiful dish of baked beans I have ever seen. They were basically Van Camps beans from a can with a little sweetener. Being from Kansas City I have eaten a lot of baked beans from BBQ places around town these rank at the very bottom.

My wife had a salad. She liked that.

Will not return to the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talk of the Town Grill also viewed

 

Been to Talk of the Town Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talk of the Town Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.