We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre experience for a top end price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood
4501 West 119th Street, Leawood, KS 66209
9133450800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 89 Restaurants in Leawood
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 119th & Roe Avenue
KC USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre experience for a top end price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I have dined at Sullivan's before and had a "just so so" dining experience and thought I would give it one more try. Sadly, it is still just OK and not worth the steakhouse prices. The bar was hopping with a nice piano player entertaining the bar and restaurant. We we dining mid week and in spite of tables of four being available, we were seated just in front of the wine cellar at a booth table that was just too tight for 4 adults. The service was attentive, and is probably the highlight of the evening. The oysters were well presented and tasted fresh and salty. But things were mediocre from there, the chopped salad was drowned in dressing and the steaks were nothing special. The a la carte vegetables were a bit undercooked but I know this is matter of preference for many diners.
I get the feeling that Sullivan's is a Capitol Grille or Ruth's Chris Steakhouse wanna be. The prices are in the same ballpark, but the food is a notch below.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Steakhouse!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The best steakhouse in Kansas City!!! Great service, great food and the dirty CEO is over the top!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Best steaks in KC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Not only excellent Fillets, but also the best wedge salad in the city! FYI, it is included with your dinner, which some waiters fail to mention, so don't order an extra salad!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leawood, kansas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“very good but EXPENSIVE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

great food overall, but at the high end of price. Nice atmosphere, good service. Good manager. But it has to be an EVENT to make it worth dining here

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“We were WOWED again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Sullivan’s Steakhouse
Mr. Mark Mednansky
930 S. Kimball Ave, Suite 100
Southlake, TX 76092

Dear Mark Mednansky,

Once again the incredible Sullivan team of Leawood, Kansas out-done themselves! Sharing another super Sullivan experience is indeed a joy! Sadly the lousy economy has kept us away for far too long, but for our 22nd anniversary, we had to have another sensational splurge of superb Sullivan splendor. So last Friday night your dedicated Sullivan staff welcomed us with open arms the second we walked in.
On the way to our very special table, smiling Sabrina Schully told us that Sherry Joseph had been promoted to Sullivan’s headquarters. Acting only as temporary GM, Sabrina told us she was happy with her own Sullivan position.
She said our table and all the staff were prepared for us and promised that everything would be perfect! (We should be used to the opulent Sullivan service by now, but it just keeps getting better!) Arriving at the table, an added touch of pure class, Sabrina had the staff sign a special anniversary card.
Our serer for the evening was bubbly, Jenny Beal. She quickly presented us with a gracious 22nd anniversary welcome! Jenn shared that she remembered us from last year. Normally I would think “sales talk” but not at Sullivan’s! Sincerity with a pleasant smile is Sullivan’s demanding trademark. Jenn took our drink orders in less than one minute we were in business. Even in this unbearable heat, quickly, the world was cool and all was well!
Followed by Sabrina then Jenn’s hearty greetings, came each of the staff, one by one conveying congrats’ for our 22nd!
About the food: For starters, Cheri had the Crab cakes and I had a succulent jumbo shrimp cocktail. The Wedge Salad was supreme! After all, everything taste better with plenty of bacon cover. As Sabrina gladly refers, handsome Chef Arron Henschen did my 14 ounce bone-in strip, with gorgonzola garlic butter 100% on the money and the garlic smashers made a perfect match. Cheri had her favorite, grilled Salmon with sautéed asparagus. The wine I picked was one of our favorites, the Catena Malbec, what an outstanding finish to a perfect meal! Then desserts were so salivating…. Sabrina brought forth all four!
The service was beyond superb and everywhere we turned, we were surrounded by exquisite ambiance and copiously trained professionals scurrying everywhere with incredible service. Please be assured, we will continue to tell others about your wonderful restaurant and all the expertly trained people who graciously serve at Sullivan’s of Leawood!

Two very satisfied customers,


Woody and Cheri Woodward
Cc: Sabrina Scully, Manager

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sullivan's Steakhouse - Leawood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.