We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Leawood - Overland Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Leawood - Overland Park to your Saves list
Aloft Leawood - Overland Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11620 Ash Street, Leawood, KS 66211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leawood
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty cool place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very clean, hip hotel. I liked the color palette and high ceilings. It is neat how there are built-ins that mirror on both the bedroom and bathroom side of the room. I found this spot to be good for my business travel. I could walk to many restaurants and shops too. The staff is young, friendly and helpful. There is a nice bar and elevated patio area that is a nice place to have a drink. I would stay here again. Keep in mind this is not your typical Marriott or Hilton - this is a boutique hotel with a little it of funk and a little bit of quirkiness. If you like that scene, you will like this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    100
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
46
50
18
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

On the surface this looks like a really cool hotel. My first impression was that I was getting all of the cool and wow factor of a W hotel, but for a much better price. However, when you look behind the veneer of quality, you find lots of little things that made me question the overall product. Only one elevator worked the whole time (and this was a new hotel). They have these cool "gel pads" in the elevator (supposed to show cool designs when you step on them), but the way they were designed all the gel squished out, and so it just looked sad and broken. The alarm clock was broken. The AC/Heat unit made a terrible noise. The barn door in the bathroom was off and hard to open. Instead of going for cool they should have started with the goal of being FUNCTIONAL and THEN adding in the cool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLeawoodGM, General Manager at Aloft Leawood - Overland Park, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Travelinlight58,
I'm sorry your stay with us wasn't more on point. You brought up some good points about our elevators. Back in October we did have one out of service due to mechanical issues and it did take quite a bit of time to get it up and running, sometimes that happens and it is not ideal, but we appreciate your patience with the situation. The gel tiles at the same time were having issues and that flooring was replaced quickly with a new concept since it clearly wasn't working. Unfortunately not everything works out the best that they should, it is just important to learn from it and adapt. I hope you can appreciate some of our growing pains and know that we always work on making it better! Next time you are in town I invite you to join us and see the updates!

Cheers,
Jennifer Wilt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I love this hotel from the art in the entryway to the shower in the room. Check-in was a breeze. Note: check-in is on the second floor. Great atmosphere, with a live band in the lobby, and easy-to-find location. I'd return.

The ONLY complaint I have is the stiffness of the bed.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Minimalist edgy and industrial, if these attributes appeal then you will enjoy this hotel.The greatest asset is the location, if you arrive by car then the first thing you need to do is park, unfortunately this is not an enjoyable part of the experience navigating heavy suitcases from the hotel car park to the reception, sucks.
You now enter into the minimalist edgy industrial world, and normally that is a lifestyle choice if you are not comfortable with e edgy industrial look and feel then this is not the place to stay, two nights top any thing more and I would be depressed. Staff appear friendly and helpful not sure about the complimentary drink coupons, why do they need to do this, found this aspect strange.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location for travelers visiting the Leawood area. The surrounding area is very walkable with lots of nearby restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is fairly new, so the interior and exterior is new and nice.

There are two main drawbacks: 1) this hotel really caters to the young and hip crowd, so the vibe may be a bit off-putting to some older travelers or business travelers; 2) the only parking option is a nearby parking garage without any sort of connected walkway to the hotel, and there is no valet parking.

Overall, fine place to stay and will return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient for New Year's Eve following dinner next door at Gordon Biersch. Comfortable bed. Minimal space and minimal lighting in room. No drawers to put clothing in. Since we were there overnight, this was not a problem. We had beautiful views of ice skaters from our windows. Some areas of hotel look worn. The cushion on the poolside sofa was covered in mold. Everything is a la carte at this hotel. Be prepared. Plenty of restaurants and quaint shops within steps of the hotel. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After we figured out the hotel, my husband and son loved it. I'm still not a fan. The first issue was parking...it took forever to find the entrance to the parking garage (down the street, past the stores), then follow the signs to the 3rd level, which was completely full. We then had to lug the suitcases through the parking garage, down the elevators and 1/2 way down the alley, up the hotel stairs to be met by.....concrete. The lower street level is all concrete and you have to take an elevator to the 2nd floor to check in.
The 2 assistants were nice, and one gave up coupons for all the restaurants in the area. That was a plus. We booked this on priceline and paid $60 per night so we were ok with the value. I would never pay the rack rate for this hotel. We asked for the little kit with asprain, $6 for 2 tablets and they were out. They were out of 75% of the advertised kits with travel items. They did still have a dollar store etch-a-sketch for the bargain price of $20. A banana and milk was available for $6.
This truly reminded me of New York hotels were they are putting as much in as little space as possible, and everything goes up.
The room itself had very little elbow room, with the only seating bench below the tv so lots of bumping of heads. The 2 beds were very comfortable, but they are a mattress on a platform, not the box spring comfort of most 3 plus star hotels. Great bedding.
The sink is like a big bowl and our faucet was broken so kind of a hassle to use. The bathroom just has a sliding door that does not fully insulate vision or sound, so there is no privacy. It was a nice shower with good water pressure.
The location was fabulous with the best steakhouse in Kansas City located right next door. If the parking had not been such a nightmare, this might have ranked higher in my book. I would never feel safe staying here as a woman traveling alone because of the hike from the parking to the hotel.
Also, the pool is in the back of the building on the first floor, so during the freezing weather, we had to bundle up to go to the concrete area and walk around to the pool. It was overflowing and there was black mold on the advertised relaxation pod. We all stayed far away from that. The workout area looked good. There was free coffee and bottled water in the rooms, and we used extra towels from the pool as the ones in the room were a little skimpy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AloftLeawoodGM, General Manager at Aloft Leawood - Overland Park, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Monica M from Olathe,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, it sounds like you found a lot of things that you liked about our property. I am concerned about your comment about black mold in our pool area. I have walked the area thoroughly and cannot find anywhere that would resemble black mold. We take cleanliness very seriously. Our pool is an infinity pool in which the water rolls over the edge and recycles back through our filtration pump system and is also Eco-Friendly treated with salt and not harsh chemicals. Please contact the hotel directly to discuss your concerns.
Regards,
Jennifer Wilt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Leawood - Overland Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Leawood - Overland Park

Address: 11620 Ash Street, Leawood, KS 66211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Leawood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leawood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Leawood - Overland Park 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the chic Park Place lifestyle development, Aloft Leawood-Overland Park is close to upscale shopping, the Overland Park Convention Center, Menorah Medical Center, and Sprint world headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Leawood - Overland Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Leawood Hotel Leawood
Aloft Leawood - Overland Park Kansas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Leawood - Overland Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.