We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait...we're still in Kansas?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Room 39

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Room 39
10561 Mission Rd, Leawood, KS 66206-2522
913-648-7639
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Room 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Leawood
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Room 39 opened in November 2004 to rave reviews and opened their second location in Leawood Kansas in the summer of 2007. Focusing on seasonal, fresh and locally grown ingredients, Room 39 is the premiere location in Kansas City for seasonal American food. We are proud to support local agriculture.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wait...we're still in Kansas?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

While we love to try out all the different BBQ places when we visit KC, sometime you just want something upscale. We did not expect Room 39 to be as good as it was. I wish they had a location in Phoenix. We would eat there often. Their tasting menu is hard to resist. At Room 39 you get to pick from the regular menu and just get slightly smaller servings of more courses. Everything was excellent starting with the bread an butter which was so good we asked for a second basket. I also love that they offer 1/2 glasses of wine which allows you to try the recommended pairing to go with the different courses. We are going back next week and taking our daughter and son-in-law for their anniversary. Looking forward to it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise in Dorothy's backyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

In early Fall we had pleasant surprise visiting a restaurant which is theoretically a duplicate of one in the heart of Kansas City. This one is more spacious and for the evening has a more formal look with table cloths and high ceiling. The food was basic Midwestern quality fare and the scallops and duck breast were very well prepared. Our dessert listed as goat cheese beignet, was not. It was more like a hush puppy with some whipped cream. The wine list is very good and
The service quick and efficient

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We ate outdoors on a pleasant evening and enjoyed the restaurant. We both had the 4 course tasting menu for $39 each and thought it was a great value. I had the salmon and my wife had the grouper. Had to bring one dessert home as we were full. Service was very good and we will go back. Enjoy the atmosphere and supporting area farmers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, KS
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Drinks that rival Manifesto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had heard good things about Room 39, but it wasn't until being lured by a Social Living offer that we finally made it in. I was a fan as soon as I opened the drink menu. Fantastic. No longer does a person have to go downtown to Manifesto to have an amazingly handcrafted cocktail, egg-whites and all. The bartender was great, and he doubled as our server as we sat in the bar area. We ordered the fried okra appetizer, and the bass and salmon for the entrees. Everything was very good. The limited selection of entrees left a little to be desired, but the menu apparently rotates around on a daily basis. I can certainly foresee coming back here, especially for a cocktail or two.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“For a quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As out-of-towners, we arrived for a quick lunch before shopping 5 minutes till closing and were welcomed. Light and airy- our sandwiches and salad were attractive, had unique flavors (especially the chicken salad and pickled sides), and were never hurried or rushed. Attentive and knowledgeable server. While there was some expected end of shift cleanup-it was unobtrusive.

Reasonably priced with fun good, upscale-but not pretentious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Room 39 also viewed

 

Been to Room 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room 39, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.