We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best around for Thai food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Thai

Baan Thai
301 South 4th Street, Leavenworth, KS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 69 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Schweinfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best around for Thai food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you like Thai food it's as best as you are going to get around here. I keep going back. They are friendly and the interior deco looks like authentic Thai.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
greenville, sc
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Wonderful Thai at the corner of 4th Street in downtown Leavenworth, close to post. Currys are great, as are the spring rolls.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“BLAND, TASTELESS AND NOT AUTHENTIC!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's the best Thai restaurant in Leavenworth, because it's the only Thai restaurant in Leavenworth. Unfortunately, the other reviewers of Baan Thai don't know real Thai food and think that anything with an Asian sounding name served with rice is authentic. I speak with authority on this subject, having lived in Thailand for almost ten years and having a Thai wife. We have eaten there twice and it's been horrible both times.

As for the restaurant itself, it a fairly pleasant place, and the actual dining experience was OK; just unfortunate that the food was so bad. But, one can't expect the same quality or taste in the mid-west as they would find from a noodle stand on Sukhumvit Road in Bangkok. The ingredients just aren't available to make it taste authentic.

As for the good part: you probably aren't going to get food poisioning as it looks fairly clean. Actually, it's much cleaner that the average restaurant in Thailand; perhaps that's why it doesn't taste authentic. Not enough rats in the kitchen....

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I always enjoy a meal at Baan Thai. The service is good, and so is the food. I usually stick with the staples like fried rice, yellow curry, pad thai, all of which are excellent. Personally,I think they have the best fried rice of anywhere I've tried it, which is something of a hobby of mine. I've been there in groups from two to twenty two, and they always accommodate us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Kansas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Thai Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant. I could eat the yellow curry dish every day. I highly recommend giving the place a shot - you won't regret it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baan Thai also viewed

 

Been to Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.