We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eldridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eldridge Hotel to your Saves list
Eldridge Hotel
701 Massachusetts St., Lawrence, KS 66044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Sunday Brunch
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to stay the night in Lawrence, KS, you have to give the Eldridge a try. You won't be disappointed. We love that it is right on Massachusetts Street and the rooms are gorgeous, clean, and modern. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
36
39
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Eldridge Hotel for a weekend away. There were about the same amount of pros and cons so overall, we had an average stay.

Pros: Location, location, location! We were so pleased that there was so much to do and so much within walking distance. There is a farmer's market that is a few blocks away, lots of shops and many great restaurants. Starbucks is on the corner next to the hotel! Another bonus: hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating. Parking is tough downtown and $10 per night is not a bad price to have it taken care of for you. The hotel room (with exception to the bathrrom) was huge. We stayed in the Grand Corner King Suite. So much room to breathe and two huge tv's to choose from. A refrigerator to chill wine and chocolates was a nice touch. Lots of pillows on the bed - I love pillows - and a ceiling fan over the bed! I now believe every hotel should have a ceiling fan to keep the air flow comfortable throughout the night. Beautiful decor throughout the hotel gave a certain luxary feel. We did hear street noise, even from the top floor, but this is very typical of downtown hotels and I expected it going in so it really didn't bother me. It was very nice of the hotel to provide white noise machines that sound like ocean water if you prefer to use them to help you sleep.

Cons: The bathroom was so small and I often hit my elbow on the toilet paper holder (OW!). I had to squeeze against the shower just to shut the bathroom door. And there was not a seperate light in the bathroom so we had to turn on the vanity area light to go to the bathroom and that woke the other one up. Putting makeup on was very hard to do with minimal mirror lighting, although they did provide a makeup mirror with lighted edge, but it was too low, forcing me to lean down toward it, and it was not bright enough. The windows need curtains. Too much light seeped in, even in the middle of the night we were seeing street lamp light seeping in. The air conditioning unit was extremely loud and I woke up in the middle of the night (both nights) with an achy back. The mattress wasn't as comfortable as some hotels I've stayed in and paid less for. And last but not least, every room should have a coffee maker without a $10 fee!

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask if you want to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

You will make a huge mistake if you stay in room 204 or 206 on a Thursday night at this hotel as it is half price Martini night and all the college kids come in and the place is really loud and then they started music at 10:00pm. I called and complained to the front desk and they did not have another room available other than 206 which is also over the bar. The person at the front desk just said, "well just fill out a comment card" and there was no comment card. It was horrible for that night, so i suggest you get on a higher level floor and not over the bar area which i was, Room 204.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 204 or 206 on Thursday night! It is directly over the bar and you will not be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My 10-year old daughter and I spend two nights at the Eldridge and enjoyed every minute of it. A very spacious suit with all one would need for a comfortable stay (they even provide q-tips). The staff was super friendly and helpful. Room service was great. Parking can be an issue but valet parking is only $10 plus there is plenty of parking free public space nearby for after hours or two-hours a pop during regular hours. Noise can be an issue but then again that's the trade-off one makes to be at the heart of downtown. I will definitely return to the Eldridge next time I travel to Lawrence.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Director of Marketing at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
So pleased to hear you and your daughter had a wonderful stay at The Eldridge! Downtown Lawrence is certainly a great place for some family time! We’re looking forward to your next trip to Lawrence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, IA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My family loves to go to historic hotels. We have been to some really nice one and some really rundown ones. The Eldridge is VERY nice. For the price I would reccomend this hotel, nice rooms with large bathroom, two TV's. The only complaint I would have is the blinds in the room do not close all the way and it is on the street so there is a lot of light that comes through. My husband and I really like it to be dark to sleep. Anyway, it is a cute hotel, if you like historic places give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Director of Marketing at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for categorizing The Eldridge as a “VERY nice” historic hotel. I am please you enjoyed your stay and will pass along your note about the blinds. If you find yourself in Lawrence again, I do hope you will choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

It suffered a bit from the old cluttered rooftop view, and the lack of easy parking. And the restoration doesn't help the hallways much. But the room and the common areas and the restaurant make the grade, common sense midwest luxury without opulence.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Director of Marketing at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We always like to hear from our guests. I’m happy to hear you were pleased with our guest rooms, lobby and restaurants. We will certainly take note of anything we can do to improve our other areas in preparation for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Eldridge is always my first choice when staying in Lawrence. This is a historic hotel with grand rooms that dwarf the 'chain hotels'. The hotel has been recently updated and is luxurious throughout. Located right on Mass street (which if you don't know, this is where all the action is!) so you can easily enjoy your evening without straying far from home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaCollection, Director of Marketing at Eldridge Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thanks for taking time to review The Eldridge and for making us your number one choice when staying in Lawrence! We certainly like to see repeat guests and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eldridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldridge Hotel

Address: 701 Massachusetts St., Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#5 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic downtown Lawrence, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of unique shops, galleries and dining and entertainment venues. The hotel is a member of the prestigious Historic Hotels of America. The 48 room, all-suite property reopened in May of 2005 after undergoing a complete restoration. The hotel features a full service restaurant and lounge, exquisite banquet space, room service and valet parking. Occupying the "most historic corner in Kansas," The Eldridge is truly the place where history and hospitality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Eldridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldridge Hotel Lawrence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eldridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.