We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real non-smoking rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Quality Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Lawrence
North America
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real non-smoking rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

We got into town late and went from motel to motel looking for a room that was truly non-smoking rather than a room that was converted into a non-smoking and found a few here. Richard the night manager was very helpful and understanding. The motel is very close to some excellent restaurants. Room was very clean. The mattress was very comfortable. Will definitely stay here the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    21
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
16
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed a night here during a road trip, and this motel was everything you want after a long day on the road. Really cheap, quiet, clean comfortable room, with microwave and fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Free wi-fi. Great free breakfast including make your own waffles.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Pet Friendly Hotel. Pet fee $10. Free Parking. If travelling with a pet, ask for a ground floor room that patio opens up to the park. Great park for the dogs to run. Great value for what you get. Grocery store across the street. Very close to campus. Nice pool area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio, u.s.a.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Before you let the negative reviews scare you off, notice that newer ones tend to be pretty good. Seems like things have changed. The nightclub next door that caused problems for one traveler is no longer open.

Keep in mind this is a budget hotel/motel with a few miles on the odometer. It's not sparkling and showy, but still for $60/night I was very pleased. My room was spacious and had a small balcony with table and two chairs.

When you check in, ask for a room facing the lovely park on one side. I didn't even notice it until a day later (I checked in at 1 a.m.) so my room face the parking lot, typical motel fashion. But since most rooms have balconies it would be great to be overlooking the park, and I'm sure quieter, although highway noise was only typical for a motel on a major highway.

The continental breakfast with added hot biscuits & gravy and make-your-own Belgian waffles was more than I expected at this price.

As others have noted, all the staff were helpful, cheerful and friendly.

If you're realistic with your expectations - it is, after all, an older budget motel on a major highway - you'll be satisfied. If you get a room overlooking the park you may be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you so much for your review of our property in Lawrence KS. We are happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you for a repeat visit. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Comfortable beds, good AC, and quiet for a good night's sleep. Clean room. Decent fast breakfast included. Pleasant staff. Pool was not ready, but early in the season. I didn't notice the workout room with 4 large pieces of exercise equipment until last day, maybe next time. PC, internet connection, and printer in the lobby worked fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that we satisfied your needs during your visit to our property. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest, usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

We've tried a lot of motels in Lawrence and this is the best value. Rooms are older, but clean, comfortable, and large. Staff is friendly and accommodating. I would recommend seeking this one out even thought it's a little ways off the highway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for your review! We would like to say thanks for taking the time to find us in Lawrence KS and for being our customer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

Staff friendly & helpful, older rooms but functional & survivable. Problem is the club next door, where the action & noise & argumentative/loud/fistfighting/cop-attracting crowd doesnt start till midnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to report that your experience with us is not the norm and we would like to have you stay with us again so we can prove it to you. Thank you for making us aware of the issues you had as all customer input, good or bad, helps us improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 801 Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Lawrence
Quality Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.