We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Quality Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We almost always stay at the Quality Inn when we're in town. It's nothing fancy, but the rooms are clean and the front-desk staff is, hands-down, the friendliest I've ever encountered. Breakfast is perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we're doing. We are very happy you had a great stay at the Quality Inn in Lawrence, KS. We take great pride in our hotel and we do have the best staff. They make sure the guests are comfortable and well taken care of. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Ellie Baer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    21
    20
    6
    12
See reviews for
19
14
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beattyville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago and redeemed a free night. This time I was a paying customer and ended up in the same room (204) as I was in the last time I was there.

Still a small room with plenty of comforts, acceptably clean, fast wi-fi and average shower water pressure. This room opens to both the outside and the inside, which makes it convenient to bring items in out of your car. Breakfast was hot and good.

One complaint is that there are very few channels available on the television. Only a handful of cable channels besides the local broadcast network channels. A better selection would be nice; surely the local cable company offers more stations.

There were a couple of minor maintenance issues, neither of which I reported. One is that a couple of the outlets beside the bed headboard have dead plugs. You can either plug in the bedside lamp or the desk lamp in the outlet behind the recliner, but not both. One of the plugs in that dual outlet is dead. The other is that there is barely any cold water that comes out of the sink, making one brush their teeth with warm water (yuck, I want my tooth-brushing water to be cold).

The price is probably a bit much for the room, but I opted to pay it because this motel was a known quantity. I'd have no trouble recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on the Quality Inn in Lawrence. We are very happy you came back to stay with us again and value as a guest. We are always open to taking a look at how we can serve our customers better. I will look into more channels for our guests and thank you for telling us about the outlets in room 204. We already had maintenance work on getting this resolved. Thanks again and please come and stay with us again.
Ellie Baer
General Manager
Quality Inn-Lawrence, KS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed Sunday July 7th.. HORRIBLE DON't stay there!!! Found a 3" roach in bathroom had to kill it so the kids could go in. Took it to front desk. he moved us into a smoking room where the carpet was sticky. Was there for a tour of KU and was planning on staying another night. But COULD NOT stand it and at 4pm the mgr said I would be charged. Heck NO.. Will never stay there again. Nothing good about it. Breakfast sucked...

Room Tip: Don't stay here !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at the Quality Inn-Lawrence, KS.
I am so sorry you had a few problems with your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and want to make our guests stay a great one. I have already addressed the problems you had with the staff and corrected the problems you encountered. We hope you had a great time in Lawrence and hope you give us another try. We have many happy repeat guests and would love for you to be one of them.

Ellie Baer
General Manager
Quality Inn-Lawrence, KS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

To get to your room, you must enter an outside door that is always locked and extremely difficult to open with your room key. We stayed on the second floor and the way to get to it is by a stair well (you’d usually see as an exit in most motel/hotels). The office is separated by a wall so if you need to see the desk clerk, you have to go out through the always locked/difficult door and enter through a separate door to the small lobby. Very strange. The room was clean, bed was ok and breakfast the usual.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Quality Inn-Lawrence. I am sorry you were frustrated with the ease of getting to the lobby and around the hotel. We are very unique and take great pride in taking care of our guests. We try make it easy and give good directions at the hotel.
I will share your comments with our staff at the Quality Inn and make sure our guests feel comfortable. We do have a few things other hotels do not have such as great balconies to sit out on and enjoy the fabulous view. We hope you come back and give us another chance to show you what a great place this is.

Ellie Baer
General Manager
Quality Inn-Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed here before and decided to stay again. HORRIBLE this time. Room was disgusting. Noise and smells were ridiculous. It was so bad we had to check out. Kiley and Cher helped us find another hotel to stay in the area. When your own hotel is so bad you help people find other accommodations, you know it is bad. We will stay across the street at the Baymont from now on. Traveler be warned!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I am so sorry you had a bad experience at the Quality Inn in Lawrence, KS. We take great pride in our hotel and want all our guests to have a great stay. You were here when the hotel was completely booked with a wedding party from another country. The entire hotel was taken by this group. A special chef was flown in to prepare food for the guests. The smell was the food being made for the wedding. The front desk agents were trying to take care of this room which was not part of the wedding so the guest would be comfortable. Our front desk agents work very hard to have a great hotel and would never recommend another property over ours. An arrangement was set up with another hotel to take good care of the our guest. The Quality Inn is a wonderful hotel and we have many happy guests who keep coming back. This was not a typical situation and we always strive for complete guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean room ,friendly staff, Nothing fancy limited parking i stay in lawerence often this is one of the nicer budget motels here. i will use this place again .didn't eat the breakfast.Did vist the area typical Continental

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMQuality1, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Quality Inn in Lawrence, KS. We have a great hotel and staff. Thank you for your comments and we hope you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Clean and comfortable at a reasonable rate. Front desk staff was helpful and polite. The location is very convenient to the campus. Out room had a balcony and overlooked the park. The only complaint was that the room was non smoking, but the hall smelled like smoke.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 801 Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Lawrence
Quality Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.