We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lawrence

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Lawrence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Lawrence
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   515 McDonald Drive, I-70 Exit 202, Lawrence, KS 66049 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Lawrence
Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at in 12 years. The hotel stinks, is in a sketchy location and the staff is not helpfull.

Room Tip: Find a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    24
    26
    11
See reviews for
40
16
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This motel is older and there is no pool or restaurant. Our rooms were clean and had flat panel TVs with cable, but there were no clocks or mini-fridges. The motel has 3 floors with no elevators. This motel is also pet friendly with a fee. The location was somewhat convenient for our needs as we were in the area for the Kansas Ironman 70.3, and we were given a late check-out without incurring an additional fee.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

I planned to stay one night at the Super 8 Motel in Lawrence on business. However, when I turned down the bed I noticed hair, dirt, and stained sheets. Also, the outside temperature was 80 degrees F, which is unseasonably warm for early October. According to the staff, the motel's hallway did not have air conditioning. Furthermore, I couldn't regulate the room's temperature couldn't be regulated properly. I managed to get the credit added back to my credit card and I stayed at another motel without any penalty.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Stayed @ super 8 in Lawrence during race time. nice comfteble bed nice tv * friendly well manner staff. I would recamand this hotel very plesed with stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just stopped for one night. Arrived late, left early. The front desk staff couldn’t have been nicer. That was unexpected given the cost of the room. That is the best I can say about this place

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an old, rundown Super 8. It should be removed from their chain. The price was right, but not much else. The parking lot is crowded. The rooms are tiny. The wooden deck for the back door entrance should be reported to OSHA. It is about to fall down. It was fairly clean, and the breakfast was standard for Super 8s. The desk staff was adequate. The lobby and breakfast area was about 90 degrees and very uncomfortable. The TV in the room was nice. The Internet worked fine although, I may have been connected to an adjoining motel. The place was freshly painted throughout. I won't stay at this one again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Maybe we just hit this place on an off night, since we've usually had good experiences at other Super 8s, but I'd definitely find better quarters if ever staying in Lawrence again. We stayed here one Saturday night while visiting relatives recently. The room was a good price for a Saturday night on Mother's Day weekend and the check-in lady was fast and efficient.
But we had a terrible sleep. Twice in the middle of the night strange men pounded on our door looking for someone who wasn't there. It was noisy throughout the night and the walls don't do much to insulate the noise. The toilet ran constantly too, but we just shut the bathroom door to take care of that. Early in the morning we heard loud voices in the parking lot below along with someone calling out, "We can take you to jail." Sure enough, two police cruisers were parked there, and police were going through another vehicle parked in the lot while the apparent owner watched. There were LOTS of signs in the lot saying the hotel was not responsible for vandalism or thefts to cars parked there. Now we understood why.
The room also had a slightly foul odor too. Not sure what that was. On the plus side, the TV worked well and had a good line-up of channels. The continental breakfast was sparse and that area was quite cluttered too. Not very inviting. I was going to ask the check-out clerk what the commotion with the cops was about but he didn't speak English too well so I didn't bother. Upon packing the car I saw a man in the adjacent apartment complex urinating against the wall there. Wonderful.
But the hotel did brisk business and didn't seem to lack for customers. As I said, maybe it was just a bad night, particularly since it was a Saturday, but I don't think I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lawrence

Address: 515 McDonald Drive, I-70 Exit 202, Lawrence, KS 66049 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lawrence 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lawrence Hotel Lawrence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lawrence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.