We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Ice Cream. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylas & Maddy's Home Made

Sylas & Maddy's Home Made
1014 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2922
785-832-8323
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Ice Cream in Lawrence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best. Ice Cream. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We're from Northeast NY, where dairy farms rule, so we know our ice cream. This is some of the best we've ever had -- creamy, fresh, wonderful flavor combinations. Will become a regular stop on our Lawrence visits!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I'm an Ice cream snob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I am very picky about my ice cream. I will only eat what I deem is the ultimate BEST. I was hesitant to try Sylas & Maddy's as I hate being disappointed. Well, NO WORRIES OF THAT HERE! The "homemade Ice Cream" is nothing but the best. The ingredients are perfect and I have yet to try something there I didn't like! Menu changes daily so you just never know what you will find! LOVE THIS PLACE! I have to work hard to not go there once a week! YUMMY!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best ice cream I've ever had...and I've had my fair share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I could eat here every day, if budget allowed. Cake Batter is by far my favorite. Cookies 'n Creme is also tasty. Their cheesecake flavors are not bad but tart, so beware. The only downside of Sylas and Maddy's is that it is somewhat expensive; double in a cup will run you around four bucks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Creamy goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Everyone on Mass Street was eating ice cream the Tuesday night we visited Lawrence. Once we got to Sylas & Maddy's it was full of college kids with their IDs getting a BYGO. No wonder... but then again, no wonder because it was awesome ice cream!
Tons of flavors to choose from. I got the Graduation Day flavor with was vanilla with brownie chunks, caramel and cashews. And my boring husband got Sweet Cream (vanilla) and a scoop of Chocolate.
The service is quick so there's no waiting.
Worth stopping in here for a treat with so many flavors to choose from. And if you're a student, be sure to stop by on Tuesdays with your ID and a friend for the BOGO deal!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in NE KS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Fantastic Homemade ice cream. Tons of flavors, very diverse served on homemade waffle cones. The hunka hunka chunk, queen of hearts and KS jayhawk named ice creams are some of the most popular/my favorites. Also sell fudge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sylas & Maddy's Home Made also viewed

 

Been to Sylas & Maddy's Home Made? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylas & Maddy's Home Made, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.