We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Beautiful, and Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn
3325 Circle S Lane, Lawrence, KS 66044   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Lawrence B&B and Inns
Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Beautiful, and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

No feeling of staying in a hotel or even a B&B here...you are treated as a guest just as if you went to visit at a friend's home.  Lots of running room for the kids, rocking chairs for the grandma's and trails to run or walk. The grounds are immaculate, the gardens with flowers of all colors, birds and even buffalo wandering about.   In the evening there is a firepit for making s'mores; dark skies for star gazing, a large room to gather and watch TV (sinful to do here in my opinion) and visit with family and friends.  The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious, served hot and promptly.  Highly recommended for anyone!  And we can't forget the beautiful Golden Retriever, Lucy, wandering around making sure everyone is comfortable and checking for dropped food.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the grounds level, steps only to the other rooms.  If there is a mobility iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

If you stay at this wonderful place having a top floor is key for the best window viewing. Texas long horn and beautifully Kansas Buffalo can be seen all around, as the clouds cascade across the rolling hills. The meals are mid-west by nature, but elegant as a dish from the sea. The hotel was as quite as we wanted it to be, as for the jets which we bubbled away together in our grand bathroom, that's another story. We couldn't have picked a more comfortable place to spend our evening. While on a stroll thru one of the many paths on the property we happened on a spot where bright lively weddings are cast among a garden of stone, much like Stone Henge in a way, my gf proceeded to add how we have been dating for some time now, and how nice it would be to have a wedding here. All in all, it was an adventure to spend a weekend get-away at the ranch, but it was well worth it, and I intend to tell all my friends.

Room Tip: 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I would like to start by saying to the people on trip advisor that said Negative stuff about the Circle S Ranch, they must be from the city. The Circle S Ranch is non of the things you stated? Dirty? It is a ranch people it is not the Sheridan hotel, slow WIFI, well you are in the country you should be glad you have internet at all. My hubby and I stayed there and we live in the city and like to get out of town from time to time. The Circle S Ranch was everything they said it was, relaxing, great people, great food, and beautiful landscape. I would tell anyone that needs a break from the day to day that Circle S Ranch is the place to be. They even have a masseuse that will come in, and we both got excellent massages! Thank you Circle S Ranch, you were just what we needed.

Room Tip: If they have the rooms they will upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Pricing a room 250/night brings a certain set of expectations; nice linens, a quality mattress, top-shelf toiletries, white glove cleanliness, etc.. Circle S delivers none of these things. While the setting is beautiful, the rooms themselves are more in line with a sub 100/night hotel - cheap linens, crack-house mattress, filthy, dust-covered Kroger brand pump bottle soap, soup-kitchen styrofoam cups, huge bottle of Lysol bathroom deodorizer sitting on the back of the toilet, wimpy wifi, water that takes over 5 minutes to get usably hot, poor fit and finish of wood trim (lots of visible drywall screws), mildewy towels and a pillow that reeked of the previous user. Simply awful. Would not consider returning and would advise anyone considering the Circle S to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We purchased the couples package which includes champagne, chocolates, fruits etc. upon arrival and a nice picnic lunch or dinner (you choose) for the next day as well as a one hour massage for both. The ranch is beautiful and fairly new with all the ammenities of a romantic getaway. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and went out of their way to bring us along while they fed the longhorn and buffalo. There are a couple of nice walking trails to view the livestock and a great wrap around porch to sit and read while enjoying a relaxing evening. Close to Lawrence for a night out shopping, eating, etc. it's in an ideal location. The hot tub room is perfectly designed in its own seperate area with all wood finish and breezey windows (I would mention that there were plenty of towels during our stay - someone had complained earlier about that). The rooms are also very nice featuring a two way fireplace and jacuzzi tub (our bed did have a headboard - also mentioned earlier as a concern). This is ideal for a romantic/relaxing getaway, and I would imagine perfect for small weddings.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

I had my wedding there last year. It was expensive, but worth it. We rented the grounds for the entire weekend and had our close family and friends stay at the Inn. It was a very cozy and intimate weekend for everyone.

The rooms are very cool. They are all decorated uniquely and are very comfortable. The rooms on the 3rd floor have the fireplace and whirlpool tubs, I prefer those rooms. One of the rooms downstairs has a fireplace also. There is a silo with a hot tub and a spa room for massages.

There were a few snags, but I didn't expect perfection, not even on my wedding day. They were small things that no one but I noticed anyway. If you just ask the owners nicely to take care of something or provide something, they are very good at fulfilling your requests. Overall, the owners and all their associates are very nice and do a great job.

The food was great. We had 2 1/2 days of meals served. Our reception meal was the best slow cooked chicken and brisket ever!! We got so many complements on the food from our guests.

The grounds are beautiful. The ranch is located off a dirt road about 10-15 miles out of Lawrence, which is a great little town to visit. The ranch is complete with roaming buffalo, trails to walk on, a tree swing, and rockers on the porch.

This place is ideal for intimate weddings, a romantic weekend, or a weekend with friends. I recommend following up with them a couple of times before your stay to go over any details or to find out who else may be staying there so you know what to expect.

  • Liked — The location out in the country, the food, the rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

My husband and I went to Circle S to celebrate my 30th birthday. To start on a positive note, the innkeepers are very friendly and the grounds are lovely. However, our experience was not positive. My husband ordered the "romance package" and we stayed in a 3rd floor suite. The "romance package" is VERY overpriced and overrated--save your money and bring your own champagne if you want it. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were flat. The biggest issue that we had was there was a group of 4 women in the room next to us who were VERY loud and intoxicated--we were kept awake well past midnight due to their loud laughter, screaming, and door slamming...NOT at all quiet, romantic, and relaxing as we had hoped. We do not think it is fair to "house" couples trying to have a romantic weekend away and drunk women having a "girls weekend" in the same place...these are two very different evenings and unfortunately the group of women ruined our very EXPENSIVE evening for us. For the $375 that we spent to have an evening away from home, we felt we should have felt refreshed and well-rested in the morning--instead we came home and took a long nap. We will not return to the Circle S Ranch.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn

Address: 3325 Circle S Lane, Lawrence, KS 66044
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Country Inn Lawrence
Lawrence Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Circle S Guest Ranch and Country Inn to your Saves list