We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner with just the Mrs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teller's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Teller's
746 Massachusetts St, Lawrence, KS 66044-2344
(785) 843-4111
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th
Transit: 9th and Mass. (one block South of the restaurant).
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner with just the Mrs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tellers has been a special spot for us for years now. It has unique design and very good food. The menu is varied enough that you can satisfy everyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely venue, food could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love this place for the atmosphere and go occasionally when we get tired of our standbys; just wish the food quality justified the prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Happy Hour for the upscale crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not everyone in Lawrence is seeking a college town experience. If you fit into that category then Teller's is the place for you. I enjoyed happy hour at the bar on the main floor. The bartender was very attentive and did a great job suggesting new drinks for us to try. The Modern Love cocktail is one of the best cocktails I've ever had! And only $6 during Happy Hour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willoughby Hills, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They always have good choices. It has been around for a long time and the food is usually good. The atmosphere is fun being an old bank.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrific food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When visiting Lawrence, this is one of our go to places. Service is always stellar & food is innovative, fresh and seasonal. I had a portobello mushroom with kale, squash and quinoa dish that is so expertly balanced in flavor and prepared--I ordered it a second time on a separate visit. Others in our group of 5 had a steak, a pasta with shrimp dish, buttermilk chicken and lasagna. All so nicely done. Having a real wood burning oven to either cook or finish off the dishes helps. The wine and cocktail list is superb as well. The lighting is wonderful, not harsh- The one thing I do think they need is better ventilation in the kitchen.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teller's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teller's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.