We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Si! It's really, really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Potro Mexican Cafe

El Potro Mexican Cafe
2351 W. 31st Street, Lawrence, KS
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 266 Restaurants in Lawrence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Si! It's really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband often suggests that we dine at this restaurant. Why is that such a big deal? Because I love Mexican food and he does not. Until we discovered El Potro, I could count on him going with me to a Mexican restaurant on my birthday and Mother's Day. El Potro won him over with their Shrimp Fajitas. I have liked everything I've tried there and we appreciate the free queso dip which is very good -- as is their guacamole. Best of all, they are good about allowing diners to make substitutions. My husband doesn't like rice and beans and they don't like him, so he orders fries instead. This Mexican food is the best I have had anywhere . . . including Mexico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Amazing. Simply awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The place seems small and insignificant, but the food (I had the Enchiladas de Glorias) and complimentary chips were delicious. Our waiter was attentive and prompt in all manners. Everything is clean and pleasant. Lovely first time and visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Kansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and brother-in-law from Texas wanted Mexican food for lunch. I had heard about El Portro and decided that we should go there. They have lots of opportunities in Texas to enjoy great Mexican food, so I was impressed when they said the food was delicious! Now, this restaurant is definitely my favorite Mexican restaurant in Lawrence. The free chips served at lunch with cheese dip and salsa are excellent. The seafood enchilada was amazing, it is a regular Friday lunch special. The price of the food and the service were good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The time to go to El Portro is for lunch. They will bring you chips with FREE cheese dip. Everything I have had there is very good. The service is quick and they look after you. There servings are quite abundant and the food is served piping hot. This restaurant is kind of off the beaten path, but well worth the search...but go for lunch. The cheese dip is not served free in the evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is great, so great, its always packed. Most mexican restaurants just give you chips and salsa they go even further and give you there homemade white queso dip thats wonderful and has spinich and tomatoes in it.
Thier portions are huge so you can split a meal. I love this place and took my 21 yr old son there. he was hesitant because its small and doesnt look like your typical restaurant.
As soon as he got his dip he said goodbye to Beyond the border and El mezcal. this is his new favorite place. Tonight I tried the tamales not a big fan but their pork carnitas chimchanga is excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potro Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Potro Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Potro Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.