We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Lawrence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Lawrence to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Lawrence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Riverfront Plaza, Lawrence, KS 66044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Lawrence
IL
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is hidden way. Nice suite rooms with kitchenette. Rooms are generous in size. Comfortable and clean. Nice for an older remodeled property.

I was here one night and would not mind staying longer. Lovely pool and fitness center.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    65
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
58
31
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I get the feeling many of the reviewers must be hard of hearing. As noted, the building is only a few feet from an active railroad track. You actually have to walk across an enclosed bridge over the tracks from the parking lot to the front door (which is on the third floor).

I was rudely awakened from sleep at least three times (I actually think it was four, but definitely three) when trains went through. Every train used its horn as it passed, which is fine for the train, but I never expected to be subjected to this.

Most of the rooms seem to be on the ground floor (yes, closest to the tracks). Mine was about ten doors away from the swimming pool, and I still had its strong chlorine odor permeating the room. despite the fact that apparently the pool door was closed and nobody used during my stay.

Decent location in town, and easy to get in and out of, but for this price the train problem is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times most recently in August while dropping our daughter off at KU this past August. Yes, the railroad does run right next to the building but I have never heard a train there (and I know for a fact that there are multiple trains through there each day including two Amtrak passenger trains at night.) I think what people do not realize is there is another set of railroad tracks across the river just out of view that are quite busy with several trains each day. That is where I have noted the train noise coming from...

Anyway, nice rooms, good breakfast, awesome location adjacent to Mass Street which is the most vibrant downtown shopping/dining area I have ever seen! If I had to ding this hotel for anything it would be the musty, mildewy smell in the hallway last time we stayed there...

Room Tip: The upper floor is actually the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We checked in late, and left early so did not have time to use any part of the hotel except for the room, breakfast, and location in downtown Lawrence. It is a standard Springhill, priced within the range I have grown to expect. It is located at the end of Mass St., so it is an easy walk up and down this busy street for shopping and eating. If you are prone to dislike noise, be careful here. The hotel is as close to the train tracks as you can get. I did not notice the trains unitl about 5:30 am, so I dont know if they ran all night and I did not hear them, or if they start in the morning. Be sure to ask if this is your issue. Parking was easy, staff was polite, room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I thought this hotel was nice. Read a couple of reviews talking about noise from trains, etc... but I had no trouble whatsoever. The staff were very helpful in recommending places to eat and directions to a place on campus I was visiting. The indoor pool looked fine, but I did not use. The fitness center had more room than most at these types of hotels. I was able to walk to restaurants close by which was also a plus. I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This facilty used to be an outlet mall, and every room overlooks the river. Sounds great! But the river is not very scenic, and the air conditioning never got the room temperature comfortable (the units in the lobby were straining, so this problem was not just with our room). The queen-size sofa bed had a very thin matress, and came with single-size sheets. Breakfast was good, but the lone staff person was struggling to keep up with everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at the Springhill Suites for 3 nights while attending a wedding in Lawrence. Our room had a nice river view and was clean and comfortable with a wet bar and desk area. Can't comment on the breakfast as we slept too late to make it! Yes, the bed was that comfortable. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. Housekeeping staff was quiet and accommodated our varied shedule. The room was always spotless and put-together when we returned.

The hotel is located within walking distance of the charming downtown Lawrence area and, although it was incredibly hot, we took an afternoon walk and stopped at Genovese for a glass of sangri, some zucchini chips (yum) and some air conditioning. Massachusettes Street itself is a nice mix of eclectic shops, some chain stores and restaurants, both fine dining and casual. All in all, a very nice visit.

Room Tip: Our room had a nice river view, although all rooms may have the view because of the way the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lawrence

Address: One Riverfront Plaza, Lawrence, KS 66044
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lawrence 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Lawrence Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Lawrence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.