We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Platinum Member Very Satisfied!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Lawrence to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3411 SW Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66046   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Lawrence
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Platinum Member Very Satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

After our not as pleasant stay at the Wichita HIE the Lawrence HIE was up and beyond the normal! The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast hot and the coffee was better than the normal HIE. The breakfast attendant was friendly and very helpful always making sure the food was hot and plentiful. We stay at HIE all over the states and the Lawrence HIE is one of the best you will find!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear chele263,

Thanks for your loyalty to the HIE family of hotels and for your elite status in our Rewards Club. I'm glad our service and accommodations met your needs and exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you recognition of jobs well done by our team and look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    39
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
27
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Our quilt club used the conference rooms for our spring quilt camp and enjoyed every minute. The staff was superb in paying attention to us and meeting our needs, most often seeming to anticipate them rather than waiting until we asked for something. The rooms were clean, and the atmosphere was comfortable and quiet. We plan to visit again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Robin W,

Thanks for taking the time to write and post another awesome review about us. We really enjoy having your group here, maybe more than you enjoy being here. Some of us are even thinking of becoming quilters, too! I hope you all have a great summer and we are really looking forward to seeing you all here again next fall.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Wow, this place was awesome. So friendly and accommodating. This is our second time using the conference rooms for our quilt camp. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We already booked it for the fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Sdowni1,

Thanks for coming back to stay and quilt with us. It is a pleasure to serve you and your group, and we really appreciate your business and your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back and serving you here again in the fall.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is our second time using the facility at Holiday Inn Express. The room was exceptionally clean, service was great, personnel were exceptionally accomodating. The dining area was clean. We are planning another stay in the fall. I would recommend this motel to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Mary P,

Thanks for coming back to us and for taking the time to post another great review about your experience here. You, and guests like you, make our jobs of providing the best in service, accommodations, amenities and facilities very rewarding. We really appreciate your compliments and look forward to serving you and your quilting friends here many more times.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This HIE is in a very convenient location for finding a good place to have dinner. It is a good stopping over place for north/south travelers. It is beginning to show some wear and tear, especially the parking lot which is coming apart this winter. We also found the Saturday morning breakfast area woefully undersized for the number of people using it. Trash cans overflowing and lady in charge just unable to keep up with the demand (watery orange juice). But room was excellent and clean. However, the windows were so dirty you could barely see out! Just little stuff, but it is the little stuff that makes the place either excellent or just good! Staff all friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you very much for posting your candid comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry we did not live up to our usual high standards and offer my apologies for the discomforts and disappointments you experienced here. We value your business and your feedback which we will use to make improvements to our operation. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and invite you to contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com at your earliest convenience so we can make amends. I hope you will give us the chance to regain your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good place to stay for working in Lawrence. Easily accessible to most areas, decent selection of nearby restaurants, convenient to KU. The room was clean and the staff are friendly & helpful. Breakfast is typical HI, not bad not great. Coffee is so-so. I'd like to see the yoplait yoghurt replaced by some decent greek yoghurt w-less sugar. The parking lot side is quieter than the Iowa St. side in terms of traffic noise.

Room Tip: parking lot side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear FreqntTrvl,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your nice review. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business and your feedback. I will forward your suggestion about the yogurt to the proper people in the brand so they can take it into consideration when they are discussing menu options. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

So great. Your staff are super friendly an your room was so clean. Also my housekeeper for my room she did great I'd like to thank shelby for a great clean room. The breakfast was amazlying good for coming from a hotel. I would most deffently come back to this hotel. Thank you an thank your great staff for me. You guys are great keep up the great work.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear 2ltrtom,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We are always very happy when a guest comments about the wonderful service they have received, and appreciate your compliments. I have shared your review with our team to let them know what a great job they have done, and also ensure they are recognized for their efforts. I hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Lawrence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lawrence

Address: 3411 SW Iowa Street, Lawrence, KS 66046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lawrence
#3 Family Hotel in Lawrence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Lawrence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the newest hotel property in Lawrence, Kansas. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites takes pride in its clean, comfortable, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Our hotel is the place to stay in Lawrence, Kansas.Our hotel is only miles from the University of Kansas, Lied Center, Dole Institute of Politics, Haskell University, Alvamar Golf Course, and the historic downtown of Lawrence, Kansas. The hotel offers complimentary high speed Internet and a meeting facility that accommodates 50 to 100 people depending on set-up.Must be 21 and have a valid credit card to rent a room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lawrence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lawrence Hotel Lawrence
Holiday Inn Lawrence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Lawrence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.