We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to open the New Year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginia Inn

Save Saved
You added Virginia Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Virginia Inn
2903 W 6th St, Lawrence, KS 66049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Offer 15 % off
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Lawrence
Stockton, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a way to open the New Year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My lady friend and I wanted to spend New Years Eve in Lawrence, KS, because of the college town atmosphere, many restaurants, and sights. We chose the Virginia Inn because of the reasonable cost. We chose the room with hot tub and king bed. Wow! Beautifully tiles floors and very attractive colors! A+

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
23
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice big room, clean with very comfortable beds. The colors in the room were very nice, warm and inviting and we had an in-room coffee-pot, always a plus for my husband (why is hotel room coffee always so weak though??) Incredibly quiet even though we did have neighbors. Great price too, we even got an extra discount thanks to TA. I was a little leery of the comforter as blanket thing per someone else's review, but this wasn't the case and there were plenty of pillows, always a plus for me. We were here in a snowstorm and there were still lots of places to eat, even late. Not a luxury place -- bathroom amenities are basic, shampoo, conditioner, soap, hairdryer, but great for the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Staff is friendly, room clean and quiet. Continental breakfast was nothing spectacular but it got us on the road with fruit and bagels so can't complain. One thing I didn't like much is that the bedspread/comforter IS your blanket, which made it not only overly warm but somewhat unsanitary. Most hotels use sheeted comforters to at least give an illusion of cleanliness.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I came to Lawrence a few weeks ago to visit family and we enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Our check-in was smooth and I appreciated the hospitality. Will definitely return when I'm back in Lawrence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We came down to Lawrence for a campus visit and happened upon on this place after deciding to stay the night in town. It was a friendly surprise, with clean and comfortable rooms. The rooms were also very nicely furnished. Now I wouldn't say it’s a five-star resort but it definitely had everything I needed for a good night’s rest, especially those with pillow-top beds. The staff is exceptionally friendly and welcoming, especially the manger. He gave us nice recommendations about nice places to see and eat in Lawrence. I will definitely be returning to this quaint hotel, when my daughter chooses to attend the University of Kansas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We went to Lawrence to see family and reserved this totally due to a rating of third best hotel by trip advisor. This has all the appearance of a "by the hour" place. A motel by no imagine a hotel. The crowning part is when we left after one horrible night my husband told me he had seen what appeared to be glue traps for mice in three parts of the room. A motel at this cost is exactly what you might think.

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We did a two week road trip from CO to OH, WV and VA and back. We stayed in many motels. None were dogs but most except this one were just average with nothing noteworthy. All about the same price range. This place is on the main drag but away from the interstate. Nice, large room with two queen beds, mid sized fridge, microwave, large flat screen TV, large bathroom with nice shower, AND... a large very comfy leather recliner. Very cool. I like to park in front of my room so hauling stuff and watching the car is easy. Individual entrances at this place. The guys upstairs were a little noisy (stomping) for a while but we just turned on the fan in the AC/heat unit to drown them out. They also had a very cute multi-colored clock in the room. A paper in the room said they'd sell us towels, clocks, etc if we wanted (and charge us the stated amount if items turned up missing) but I thought $50 for the little clock was way overboard though I would have liked one for our guest room at home. Very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Inn

Address: 2903 W 6th St, Lawrence, KS 66049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Lawrence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lawrence
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lawrence
#2 Family Hotel in Lawrence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This two-story hotel offers 36 rooms decked out in warm colors. Rooms come with microwaves, refrigerators,coffee pots, hairdryers and flat-panel HD 32" or 42" TVs with DirecTV-120 CHANNEL cable. Some rooms also have kitchenettes and SUITES with a JACUZZI/ hot tub. We are located close to KU campus. Wi-Fi makes it easy to stay in touch with the folks back home. Don't spin your wheel looking for parking because it is free and plentiful here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Virginia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Lawrence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.