We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as value hotels go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Kansas City to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Kansas City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 N. 78th St., Kansas City, KS 66112-2902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kansas City
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good as value hotels go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I needed a clean comfortable place to spend one night while driving home on I-70. Because I was heading west I wanted to be on the west side of the KC Metro area, to avoid driving through weekday morning rush hour city traffic. My travel plans had changed so I was on the internet looking for such a place only a couple of days in advance. This hotel had rooms available for the night I needed and the price was a good deal.

I'm used to spending a bit more and staying in Hampton Inn type places so I didn't have high expectations of this value hotel. I was pleasantly surprised; it somewhat exceeded my expectations. I'm posting pictures I took of my third-floor room on check-in in hopes that they may help others to decide about this hotel. Overall it was fresher and cleaner, more updated, than I expected. The bed linens included a white duvet (clean), thin brown cord bedspread (stains, ick), and decorative throw. I quickly tossed the spread and throw into a corner.

The bathroom was quite clean and towels were not only plentiful, they were decoratively arranged. They were a bit on the thin side but clean and didn't seem worn. The in-room coffeemaker worked well.

Breakfast looked comparable to what I've seen at other chain hotels. The clerk at check-in was very pleasant. I had no trouble finding a parking place, but I assume that's because the place wasn't booked full.

The elevator doors closed with a loud grating noise on the first floor, which could be a nuisance if your room is nearby. The walls are a bit thin and I heard more sounds of running water, hallway noise, etc., than in other hotels.

Room Tip: The elevator doors are very noisy and grating, especially on the first floor. That would be annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
26
20
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you are going to a race at Kansas Speedway, this is an ok place to stay, as it is about 10-15 minutes from the the speedway. Bed was reasonably comfortable and employees very friendly. Walls are thin, so you better hope your neighbors are quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor away from ice machine and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

When we arrived late in the evening, the hotel clerk, Amy C, was very gracious and accommodating. She directed us to the Legends area for dinner and entertainment. Our room was very clean and comfortable. When we checked out, the front desk called back to confirm that our stay was a pleasant one. I very much recommend this facility as a great place to stop for the night. Kuddos.

Room Tip: Great value. The neighborhood in general is a little shady right off the interstate, but park in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is our first time staying in a Comfort Inn and if this is typical, we will definitely be staying again. Rooms were clean and fresh. Each queen bed had four pillows, two firm and two softer. Towels were soft and bright white. Lighting was good. Wifi was good.
The only negative was the tissue box had only one tissue in it and I had a cold! I would not have noticied this otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plato, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was visiting some family and friends and also wanted to take a break for rest. When we finally arrived at the hotel, it was very late and my family and I were ready to relax. First, the customer service of the Front Desk personnel was exceptional!!! She made us feel like we were at home!!! She was very personable and professional! The rooms were clean and fresh!!! The beds were so comfortable and we slept through the night (a rarity for me)!!! We will definitely make this hotel our stay when we travel to here again!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The employees are wonderful - Especially Grandma Judy - Even if you do not eat breakfast go visit Grandma Judy. Very nice hotel for the cost! I would return to this hotel in the future without a problem. When I see some of the reviews I am wondering if any of those who complained has ever actually been in a bad hotel (smile face).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

pretty much what one should expect for the money. a bit nosiy because lots of KC Chief fans in for a game. breakfast had hot eggs and breakfast sausage. only complaint was the bed, it kept wanting to roll me into the middle. between the noise and the bed i gave it 3 stars. otherwise what one expects when traveling for a 100 bucks.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway, Kansas City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
#6 of 20 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kansas City

Address: 234 N. 78th St., Kansas City, KS 66112-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Kansas City 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Kansas City, Newly Remodeled Hotel is ideally located off Interstate 70 and 78th Street exit (#414) just 18 miles from the Kansas City International Airport. This Kansas City Hotel is convenient to popular attractions like Legends Shopping and Dining, Kansas Speedway, Sporting KC Park, Cerner Corporation, Schlitterbahn, Sprint Center, Bartle Hall, Downtown Kansas City, KC Chiefs and KC Royals Stadiums, Verizon Wireless Amphitheater Kansas City, Worlds of Fun amusement park and Oceans of Fun water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kansas City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.