We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best LA food for 500 miles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jazz A Louisiana Kitchen

Jazz A Louisiana Kitchen
1859 Village West Pkwy, Kansas City, KS 66111-1880
+1 913-328-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 212 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Live music Wednesday, Friday and Saturday nights!
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best LA food for 500 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Good quality, authentic cajun food. Nothing can match New Orleans (or Shreveport for that matter), but Jazz is the real deal and the best cajun food within a day's drive of the heartland.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A must eat if u like Cajun food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our waiter understood exactly what we wanted & adjusted items on the menu to fit our request .... He was very nice & encouraging to my 6 yr old son, which means everything to us. Being from Louisiana, I agree with the job they did on atmosphere & food! Must eat place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just OK won't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to lunch with a friend June 2012. We ordered a drink which tasted funny. I think it had seltzer in it. The drink does not normally have seltzer in it. We said something to our server and she started arguing with us. We thought OK, we never get a drink here again.

The meal was just OK. I ordered blackened chicken with dirty rice. I thought it was supposed to be spicy. It really wasn't. Maybe I misunderstood. But anyway, I can make better dirty rice than this. The chicken wasn't bad, but it just wasn't something I would get again.

The jambalaya was OK too. I would get that again. But really, it wasn't a good enough experience that I would go back. There are a bunch of restaurants in this area of town and next time I'll try something else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We came here for the first time two years ago and I couldn't wait to try it again. Delicious flavorful food. (Spicy if you'd like) You won't leave here hungry!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Taste of New Orleans in KC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My hubby and I came here for our first date and relive our first date every year here! The food is DELICIOUS and the atmosphere is fun! There's live jazz in the evenings, so come early if you don't like jazz/noise. My favorite dishes are the Aligator Bites, Shimp Fettuccini (you can get this with cajun spices or not), and don't forget the Beignets for dessert!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazz A Louisiana Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Jazz A Louisiana Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jazz A Louisiana Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.