We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Inn Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Inn Kansas City to your Saves list
Regency Inn Kansas City
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   4725 State Ave, Kansas City, KS 66102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Missouri Valley, Iowa
1 review
“don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Ok we had booked two rooms, checked in and was told that they were in the process of cleaning up the rooms. So we decided to go to world's of fun. When we got back to the hotel they gave our rooms to someone else. Even though we had paid for ours. They clearly need to learn how to make sure they aren't double booking rooms. So we ended up with a king size bed with five people to share the same room. The girls had to sleep on the nasty floor. There was no extra pillows, only two towels and the porn channel on the tv wasn't secured for young eyes. We ended sleeping on top of the blankets. In a very uncomfortable part of town. And worst of all its not what they make it out to be. Come on selling condoms and lube in thr vending machine? So not a family hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    2
    1
    17
See reviews for
9
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This was the worst hotel we have EVER stayed in!!! The room was disgusting! A hole in the wall (literally!), holes in the furniture and bedding. The room smelled. Cigarette stains on the furniture. Refused to take our shoes off! And slept in our clothes. I worried about my safety and also that my car might have gotten broke into or stolen! It was dingy, dirty, an awful!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I can not believe the pictures viewed here. The room my daughter and I rented was so filthy that my daughter slept in the car. I only stayed in the room (and slept in my clothes} because I am 79 and there was not room for two of us to sleep in the car. We did not look at the room first, My big mistake. There was no toilet set on the toilet. The room was so dirty it should be condemned. I would have ask for my money back, but knew he would have refused to. We had our dogs with us so we stayed because they accepted pets.We did not want to let our dogs down on the dirty floor.Dirty sheets,towels whole place should be closed down. Health department should be called on them.

Room Tip: do not waste your money.rooms a terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to make these sincere comments. I apologize to you for the property falling short of your expectations in so many ways. I only wish you had reported these issues to us at the time. While there’s no excuse for our lapses, we could have probably moved you to another room or taken other actions to significantly improve your stay if given the chance. If there are any unresolved issues or your have additional comments, don’t hesitate to contact us directly. We strive to satisfy everyone, and I apologize again that we were unable to provide a satisfactory experience to you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

One room is 60 bucks a night. Seems average price, but it is not worth the stay!!

First thing we noticed was that it was in a bad neighborhood. Then, we watched as three cars worth of people walked into one room. Very shady...
The swimming pool outside was closed. The area full of trash, did not look like they were going to be renovating or fixing it up any time soon...

We got a non-smoking room and there were burn marks/holes in the bed, floor, and table. There was a used needle on the floor under the table! Blood and urine stains on the bed and sheets - they were not cleaned at all. Small hairs in the towels and the knob to the bathtub was broken off. There was mold growing from the wall near the heater. The smoke detector was ripped out of the wall and left behind the tv. We went and complained but could not get a refund so we got a smoking room.
The room was slightly better, but still not very clean. There were bugs lined up against the wall behind the bed. One of the lamps were ripped out of the wall. The other had exposed wires. There were bugs in the bath tub and the floors of the room were all damp.

Please, save yourself 60 bucks and keep yourself healthy, don't stop here.

The pictures shown were obviously taken over a decade ago when this place opened. It's now used for shady drug deals and who knows what....

Room Tip: Just don't stay here, ESPECIALLY if you have children or pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

we’re sorry that your stay with us was less than ideal. I’m glad to see that the manager on duty was able to provide a replacement room. If it was not satisfactory, we could have moved you again. We have taken great effort in the last several weeks to clean and refresh our property, and the city is making progress improving the quality of our neighborhood. Rest assured that we provide security to keep our property safe. Our goal is to continually improve this motel so that every guest experience exceeds expectations. Whenever we fall short, we apologize and do what’s necessary to make it right. I hope you will stay with us again in the future and allow us to win your trust and your business. Again, we apologize for being less than the best during your stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Hate this hotel. Filthy, no hair dryer, had hair all over my bed and bathroom! The guy in the front is extremely rude and doesn't know how to treat his customers! I would never recommend this hotel for anyone. There is no cleanliness in the room either.

Room Tip: Rooms are very dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear guest,

We’re very sorry to hear that your stay at our Kansas City, Kansas hotel did not meet your expectations and hope we can make it up to you during your next stay with us. We want to win your business and your trust. We have retrained our desk employees and made some staffing changes, including changes to our housekeeping staff to make sure every room is always clean and comfortable. We strive to provide the perfect combination of value, amenities and comfort so guests will come again and again. We sincerely apologize for falling short during your stay with us. Our goal is provide exceptional service and quality rooms that will make you want to come stay with us again and again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had reservations for 3 nights over race weekend. When we got here we could tell from the outside that the pictures are nothing like it is! We checked in and the person checking us in was behind a bulletproof glass, (1st clue) then we checked out our room. Bad smell, cobwebs in the corners, the chain lock on the door looked like it had been replaced and repositioned several times! (2nd clue). Expedia really needs to take this off their recommendation list. We did not stay here!!!! Found a different place. I don't even think I would have been able to close my eyes if I had stayed. So my suggestion is DO NOT STAY HERE NO MATTER HOW REASONABLE THE PRICING IS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regencyinnkansascity, Webmaster at Regency Inn Kansas City, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Regency Inn Kansas City for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, it was shared with the manager and ways in which our valued guests could feel that they were getting their moneys worth were discussed.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will choose to stay at Regency Inn Kansas City. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be very pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Regency Inn provided great comfort at an affordable price. To be honest I was not expecting the "bells and whistles" because we came across this hotel when everything was booked up last week. We decided to give them a try and they delivered on all aspects of our stay. The staff was friendly, manager seemed on top of things and the rate was affordable. I just wanted to say thanks for making my stay a good one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn Kansas City

Address: 4725 State Ave, Kansas City, KS 66102
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Regency Inn Kansas City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Inn Hotel is ideally located off Interstate & I-635, Exit #5, on Hwy-24(State Ave.); At 47th Street & State Avenue corner, near & north of I-70 & I-635 junction in KC-KS, just minutes away from Schlitterbahn Vacation Village water park and The Legends at Village West entertainment and dining district. This Kansas City, KS hotel is convenient to popular attractions like the Kansas Speedway, Cabela's, Nebraska Furniture Mart, the Sprint Center and Worlds of Fun, Oceans of Fun, amusement parks. The University of Kansas Medical Center is also in the area. Argosy Casino Gambling is just north on I-635, 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Regency Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Inn Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.