We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Updated Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites at Village West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites at Village West to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites at Village West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10920 Parallel Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“Spacious Updated Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here one night on business. I probably would not have reserved this room, but it is where I was instructed to stay and I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms were quite spacious, comfortable, and clean. I had a Queen room which had a 2-burner stove, refrigerator, microwave, desk w/ 2 chairs, flatscreen TV, recliner, queen-sized bed, and large 4-piece bathroom. Kitchen area had laminate flooring, carpeting in the sleeping area, and tile in the bathroom (or vinyl - can't remember). Air conditioning was excellent - easy to manipulate temperature. Wi-fi was fast and free. The only downside was the pillows - a bit hard. I normally bring my own and I forgot this time. But, I still slept well but had to get up rather early for business. Bed, itself, was very comfortable and linens were nice. Towels were nice as well.

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. There was the option to borrow DVDs from the front desk (which I did not do - had to work and get some sleep). No breakfast but there was coffee. Lobby area is rather small and I found it odd that the front door was automatic (to help you get in and out with your luggage) but there was another inner door that was not automatic - kind of defeated the purpose of the front door. Just an observation - I didn't have much luggage, so it wasn't an issue.

All-in-all, a very nice hotel. I'm sure if you have an extended stay, this would be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
11
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valley Center, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had 2 rooms and spent 3 nights here while attending the NASCAR races. The location is perfect....close to great shopping, restaurants, etc. The room was extremely comfortable and quite large. The hotel is also pet-friendly and this was the first hotel stay for our small dog. Amanda, Jessica and Kelly were extremely helpful to my family (and our pet) during our stay! The care and service they provided was above and beyond what was expected. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before and it is always nice. My favorite hotels (that aren't beachfront) have kitchens in the rooms. Of course, that would make this one a favorite.

The staff members are very nice and helpful. The last time I stayed there, I was upgraded, but not on this visit. I can't complain though because they did honor my request to be on the top floor.

The room was nice. The queen bed was pretty comfortable. The air conditioning worked as it should. The flat screen TV was a nice touch. As a few others have mentioned, the kitchen is nice, but it doesn't have an oven. It sure would be nice if it did, but I don't recall staying at a hotel that has had an oven. Perhaps it is an insurance liability. Other than that, the only thing I would add to the kitchen is a sponge for scrubbing dirty dishes.

The bathroom was pretty standard. One peculiar thing was the constantly changing water temperature in the shower. That's not a very common problem in hotels. Still, it was not that much of a temperature variation. It didn't get really cold or scolding hot. Just enough to make you have to turn the knob.

The fitness room was pretty standard. A couple of treadmills, an elliptical and a bike (I think). There was also a cable machine. Some dumbbells and a bench would've been a nice touch. The fitness room shares some space with the laundry room, which is complimentary.

The last time I stayed at this hotel, I grilled out. The weather didn't allow for it this time. Hopefully your mileage will vary. There are tons of restaurants and things to do nearby. I bought groceries at the Walmart, next door. You could literally walk to it.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to others. The price was just right for my company.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently spent 10 days at Candlewood Suites. Overall we were pleased. The kitchenette was sufficient for our needs, so we didn't have to eat out constantly, but it would be nice if they had ovens in the rooms.
The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were inconsistent. We had 6 different pillows in our room, and no two were the same, some hard, others soft. The room was mostly quiet, but you could hear others, especially over the weekend.
Due to the trend in hotels of connecting motion detectors to the HVAC unit in order to save money, the temperature was all over the place. When you first enter the room, it blasts heat in order to warm the room, then it blasts cool in order to regulate the air.
The gym was small, but there was sufficient equipment and I never had to wait for a workout. The laundry room had free washers and dryers and they were clean.
The staff was friendly and helpful and the store was well stocked.
Location is great, as it is in walking distance to many restaurants and entertainment venues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerKCKS, Manager at Candlewood Suites at Village West, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the suggestions and comments. We want to make each persons stay the best it can be and with your help we will work on being better.
I will pass on your nice comments about our staff as the team does take pride in being friendly and accommodating.
Come see us again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I tried to book a hotel online and was unable, so I called a reservation service. They helped me find Candlewood Suites. I'm so glad they did! Candlewood Suites made the check-in/out process easy. The quality of the room was surprising amazing! And they allowed pets!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerKCKS, Manager at Candlewood Suites at Village West, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review, come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hotel for activities at Kansas speedway. The hotel is defiantly am extended stay hotel. No frills. The bed squeaked every time someone moved in it. Over all clean and friendly. Way over priced but that was expected due to the nascar weekend.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites at Village West, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Broadster1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am delighted to hear that our property exceeded your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience the bed may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend to attend the NASCAR race nearby. The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. It was great to have a full refrigerator and stove to be able to cook to cut down on food expenses. With WalMart basically in the same parking lot didn't even have to bring things to fix. Staff were all very nice and went out of their way to make the stay great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites at Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites at Village West

Address: 10920 Parallel Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites at Village West 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended Stay Hotel in Kansas City, Kansas, Welcomes You The Candlewood Suites in Kansas City is built specifically for extended stay travelers and will make you feel at home during your stay in Kansas City. Our hotel's convenient location makes it perfect for business or leisure travelers. Leisure travelers enjoy our hotel's Kansas City location, as we are less than one mile from the Kansas City International Speedway and just across the street from the Legends Shopping Center. Nearby, you will find the Nebraska Furniture Mart, Cabela's, and the Verizon Wireless Amphitheater. Downtown Kansas City and a variety of museums and attractions are just a short drive away. Our hotel is also ideal for those in Kansas City for business. Providence Medical Center, Heart of America Surgery Center, Fort Leavenworth Army base and the University of Kansas are all nearby, and a variety of other businesses are just a short drive away. Each of our suites features an executive work desk and free high-speed Internet access, so you can stay connected during your time on the road. Those looking for comfortable extended stay lodging in Kansas City will feel right at home. With amenities including the Candlewood Cupboard, which offers food and sundry items for purchase, a 24-hour fitness center, free laundry facilities and a free lending library, we are the perfect place to stay during your visit to Kansas City. Check our great Kansas City hotel deals today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites at Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kansas City Speedway Hotel Kansas City
Candlewood Kansas City
Kansas City Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites at Village West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.