We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T-Rex

T-Rex
1847 Village West Parkway, The Legends at Village West, Kansas City, KS 66111
913 334 8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 228 Restaurants in Kansas City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Love the restaurant. The food (fish tacos) were really good! It's pricey but, you get a lot of food be prepared for a take home box. The atmosphere is so fun for kids. My only complaint was. it was 14 degrees outside and they place us in the bar area. it was so cold with the doors opening all the time. Other than that. I like the place.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    122
    61
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was perfect for a birthday for my nieces. It's fun for the adults too. The food is a little on the pricey side, but was really good and worth it for the atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Most fun restaurant EVER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I am probably biased because I love dinosaurs, but this made me feel like a kid again. As you walk up to the restaurant hidden in the middle of an outdoor mall, there is fire coming up from the sign out front! You enter and there is a giant mechanical T-Rex, a huge octopus covering the bar, 2 stories of dinosaur-filled wonder. The gift shop is huge and they even have a Build-A-Dino center!!! The cotton-tini is a must if you like martinis. Be sure to make a reservation or be prepared to wait 1-2 hours. Luckily we were able to sit at the bar, as waiting was not in our time budget. Most of the staff was beyond friendly, except the woman tasked with following the dinosaur mascot, Dexter, around and taking pictures of patrons with him. I could not stop grinning the whole time, it was an awesome experience. The food is ok, not great, but we weren't really there for the food anyways.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood,Ar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool place to take kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've eaten here twice. It's a nice restaurant with robot dinosaurs and huge aquariums. Don't expect to eat cheap, but it is an experience you're paying for. The food was good, just small portions, at least what I ordered. I would recommend this place if you have kids of the right age.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok Food, Not as Good as Rainforest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We took our kiddo (age 3) on his first vacation and stayed at Great Wolf Lodge and found this restaurant to fit the bill as kid-friendly and a new experience for him. We had a reservation made earlier in the week and when we showed up there was no wait, yet they stuck us in one of the least desirable spots in the restaurant. We requested a move, but the new location wasn't much better (both top floor with no good way for a kiddo to see over a wall). I ordered the chick fried chicken and it was below to average...the chicken had almost no flavor and the gravy was served on the side. The fries were cold, but were given some hot ones when requested. My Husband had the ruben and said it was top-5 of any ruben he's had. The kiddo had the mini-corndogs, but he's not picky. I never saw the bill so couldn't comment on value. Not sure that we'll return...certainly wouldn't if we didn't have our kids with us.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T-Rex also viewed

 
Kansas City, KS
 

Been to T-Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Rex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.