We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go-to hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Village West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Village West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Village West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Prairie Crossing/Parallel, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go-to hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

So convenient place for short stay. This is our second time here and it's just convenient. Close to I70, Legends mall and 15 minutes to downtown KC. Rooms are nice, clean, well appointed, not luxurious. Free hot breakfast, wifi, parking, You go downtown and they charge for these things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We love being able to offer so many great amenities that make every stay enjoyable! We hope your travels will bring you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
12
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I am a platinum member and tend to stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels

Pros:
Very nice breakfast selection
Friendly staff
Average cost per night compared to others
Very close to many restaurants and shops
Comfortable beds

Cons:
Slow internet during the say, coworker that was staying there had the same issue.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We enjoy hearing what services we provide that are successful as well as the areas we need improvement. Please rest assured we are working on updating our internet currently. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future and enjoy our updated internet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed here. The rooms are very clean, staff is friendly and this is within walking distance to Legends mall. We were both very impressed with everything from the room to the breakfast. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We love hearing that we met all of your expectations during your stay with us! We hope to serve your family again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I like staying at this hotel due to its location to all the amenities and attractions in the area. The rooms are always clean and the beds are very comfortable. The front desk staff are friendly and always willing to help with whatever needs you may have.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_KC_Legends, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us! Please come back and stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed here with 4 other ladies on a road trip. This hotel is in a great location surrounded by many shops and restaurants, as well as the Kansas Speedway.

The rooms were a tad small, but otherwise very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was good.

The absolute best part of our stay was the staff. Courtney checked us in. She was very friendly and helpful, plus she worked hard to divide the room charges on 5 different credit cards. And a HUGE thank you to Kristen for working her magic to get us adjoining rooms.

A nice hotel + a great location + friendly,helpful staff = a wonderful stay. Thank you HI Express Village West!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! It's so wonderful to hear our staff made a big impression on your stay! We sincerely hope you'll stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I were in Kansas City for a business meeting for him just for the weekend (Friday - Sunday), I just went for the "ride". We have stayed here before. This hotel is located in an awesome spot. The Legends is a great area to stay, there is so much to do. Great restaurants, shopping, Casino, and Kansas Speedway. This hotel is reasonable and clean. We had a really nice room with the Jacuzzi tub in the room. The bed is really comfortable. The staff are awesome. During our stay, there was a major winter storm and we were on call whether our flights would be cancelled the day we were leaving. I had already anticipated them being cancelled and booked for an extra overnight stay. Well our first flight was cancelled and we rebooked for later in the same day. The staff Courtney and her counterpart were awesome, letting us remain in our room for an extra hour and a half so we didn't have to wait in the airport for hours. We were able to relax in the room until it was time to drive to the airport. Our biggest complaint was that when we went to eat the free breakfast, there was almost nothing left. No big deal, we walked to IHOP. This is our go to area when we go to Kansas City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests and enjoy hearing we've made your stay as comfortable as possible! We hope to serve you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with his sister and her husband to catch a NFL game. My sister in-law had me book this hotel thinking that she had stayed here before. When we arrived in Kansas City she soon realized that she had never stayed here before. It was the best reservation mix up we could have had. The hotel is located by Legends which is a shopping center. There are also many restaurants to choose from. We were lucky enough to see the Christmas tree lighting while we were there. They even had live music! Sporting Kansas City had a game against Houston while we were there, but we soon found out it was sold out which was unfortunate because it would have been fun to catch a MLS game. Schlitterbahn KC was a crossed the highway from the hotel. My sister in-law noticed that there was a speedway also close by. We all talked about how we will have to come back for a summer trip with our kids.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_KC_Legends, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you will be makng a trip back to stay with us! There are so many things to offer in the area during the spring and summer time. We look forward to seeing you and your family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Village West

Address: 1931 Prairie Crossing/Parallel, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Village West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Kansas Speedway on the vibrant western edge of the Kansas City metro area the Holiday Inn Express Kansas City Hotel at Village West is right next door to the Nebraska Furniture Mart and just minutes from Cabela's and Community America Ballpark, home of the Kansas City T-Bones baseball club as well as the Sporting Stadium, home of the KC Sporting MLS soccer team. Plenty of shopping, fine dining and nightlife are within walking distance at the Legends open air mall. Sandstone Amphitheater, Agricultural Hall of Fame and the Renaissance Festival are just a short 5 minutes away. In addition, our convenient location provides access to other exciting venues in Kansas City like the KC Chiefs, area casinos, and the University of Kansas. Stay smart and have an enjoyable and memorable visit to Kansas's #1 tour destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Village West Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Village West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.