We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Village West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Village West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Village West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1931 Prairie Crossing/Parallel, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Abilene, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel had a great location. I stayed her with a group of friends and it was just a quick walk to Legends...it seemed closer than the other hotels in the area. The staff at check-in we're very friendly (and efficient). Room was clean and had a mini-fridge. The hot breakfast was very good. The only complaint - there was a gap under the door, which was bigger than other hotels. So we could here everything when the people in the room next door came back at 2:30 a.m. There is a pool onsite, but we didn't have a chance to use it. I would stay there again if staying at the Legends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    17
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
12
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location was great for our visit to the casino and the sports arena. Since we played in the casino until 5 a.m. the blackout shades were helpful. Nice clean location, clearly it has been built in the last few years. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast and coffee was acceptable and the wi-fi was fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Traveled_1665,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As soon as I entered the Hotel the appealing lobby and pleasing service by the Front Desk staff set the tone for a very pleasant and satisfying stay. Moreover, the rooms were pristine with all the up-to-date amenities and its contemporary motif was inviting and comforting. The Continental Breakfast was the typical fare but still satisfying. The shuttle to and from local restaurants and the airport was an added bonus as the drivers had a gift for easy conversation and provided excellent service. Still, what impressed me most was the sincere effort consistently demonstrated by this hotel’s charming and conscientious staff. The quality of the facilities, rooms, and affordability, in addition to the dedicated service made for an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Is the hotel clean and safe - yes.

The location is super convenient if not incredibly beautiful (looked like it was in the middle of a giant shopping area. IHOP is right next door, tons of other shops and restaurants within walking distance since Legend Mall is across the street. Speedway is within walking distance too.

Room was nice with flat screen tv. Everything was in excellent condition though the carpeting and furniture was a little outdated looking. I'm not sure why some people complain the beds are too soft - I found my king bed in room 334 to be just right. I really liked the shower too - it was huge though I couldn't figure out how to change the narrow pulse setting (or if I could).

Little extras - Holiday Inn Express hotels will give you toothpaste and toothbrush if you ask. Both conditioner and shampoo in separate bottles as well as soap bars. There was free wifi. Extra towels in the indoor pool for you to use if you want. Pool was ok but a little small for lap swimming, fine for just having fun in. Exercise room wasn't huge but did the job. No on-site restaurant but you can easily walk just a little bit to IHOP even at night. There was a microwave and minifridge in my room.

Staff was really nice - everyone in Kansas was. Breakfast buffet was ok if not superb. This isn't the Ritz Carlton though so I was happy enough with the pancakes, premade mini-omletes, banannas, cereal, pastries, etc. I came in Jan so the hotel wasn't that busy.

I was able to find cheaper hotels that were of the same star rating elsewhere but I suspect the location is why the price is a little higher. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_KC_Legends, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for being our guest!! We truly appreciate you choosing our hotel.
I must add that while our location is great any time of the year just imagine if you were here in the spring/summer and could enjoy walking to all the shops, restaurants, and entertainment... hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night in December. We had spent several hours at Nebraska Furniture Mart (which is right next door) and were extremely tired. The person at the front desk (Kristen or Kirsten) was very welcoming and friendly. She not only checked us in quickly but was helpful with dining options in the area. She even found a coupon for a free appetizer at Granite City Food and Brewery. The room was very nice and comfortable. The shower was very good. In the morning, we took advantage of the free, hot breakfast. The food was good and the woman working the breakfast area was very attentive and friendly. Even the housekeepers we met in the hall and on the elevator were extremely friendly and asked how we enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel for quality, excellent staff and great location (next to Nebraska Furniture Mart, Legends Shopping Center and the Kansas Speedway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express_Legends, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Village West, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dr. Mizzou- Thank you for being our guest and taking time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure having you and your wife stay with us. We look forward to having you back for your next trip to Nebraska Furniture Mart (Kirsten will have many other restaurant coupon options in the Legends area ready for you).

Happy 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stadsbygd
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel two nights in the beginning of November. The rooms were huge and clean. This hotel is located out in Village West, close to the Legends outlet. Great service from the staff! Especially from Kirsten - who did a great job with helping me find my telephone which I lost in the taxi on our way from the airport. I really appreciated that effort. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staff were very nice. Hotel looks great and room was clean. Location is good and very close to legends shopping. I will definately stay at this hotel again when in the area. Stayed on priority points and was worth the 25,000 points. Also is easy access off of interstate.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Village West

Address: 1931 Prairie Crossing/Parallel, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Village West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the Kansas Speedway on the vibrant western edge of the Kansas City metro area the Holiday Inn Express Kansas City Hotel at Village West is right next door to the Nebraska Furniture Mart and just minutes from Cabela's and Community America Ballpark, home of the Kansas City T-Bones baseball club as well as the Sporting Stadium, home of the KC Sporting MLS soccer team. Plenty of shopping, fine dining and nightlife are within walking distance at the Legends open air mall. Sandstone Amphitheater, Agricultural Hall of Fame and the Renaissance Festival are just a short 5 minutes away. In addition, our convenient location provides access to other exciting venues in Kansas City like the KC Chiefs, area casinos, and the University of Kansas. Stay smart and have an enjoyable and memorable visit to Kansas's #1 tour destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Village West Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Village West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.