We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good idea, seem to be cutting corners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Avalon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau Avalon to your Saves list
Chateau Avalon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good idea, seem to be cutting corners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's a great idea. The facility was nice, the location was nice, the setting was great. Our room was nice as well. We went down to the bar one evening and the bartender was great. We enjoyed drinks on the patio. All that was fine. However, the staff was surly at times, and I got the impression they were understaffed and overworked. Lack of uniforms for the staff gave a bad impression as well. Management decides what the attitude of staff will be, and they've decided poorly I think. Also, we were there for 2 nights and our room was never cleaned. With adequate staff and a friendly attitude, I might have given this place 5 stars. As it is, 3 stars seems a stretch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Neil H,

Thanks for taking the time out to write a review reflecting your thoughts & experiences on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve on the things that need improvement! We hope to regain your full trust along with the other 2 stars in the near future!

Sincerely,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    38
    24
    30
See reviews for
5
188
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel makes for a great anniversary outing, but my husband and I weren't really thrilled with the price value. The food is really good, but the room was small. If I am going to pay over $300 for something, I want it to be a bit more extravagant. I just wasn't wowed.

We did get the entertainment package, which allowed us to watch 2 movies at the Phoenix theater and then eat at Dave & Busters. I think the most romantic part of our entire anniversary outing was walking hand in hand outside the Legends. We could have done that without spending a great deal of money at Avalon though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear HBR2002 -

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am sorry you didn't enjoy the suite you were in but we do have 23 different concepts and 61 rooms that are all a little different from one another! Although this one wasn't the right fit there is one here that I am sure would suit you both better. We have open tours Sunday through Thursday from 12 pm - 3 pm & I encourage you to do this so you can come see the other rooms & suites we have to offer. Thanks again for your review and we all hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed in Buckingham Room. It was clean, but overpriced. No bedside stand or lamp. Front desk crew needs a class in hotel hospitality. They should have someone to help with your bags even if on a part time basis. The gourmet breakfast advertised is not gourmet, The giant cinnamon rolls was good. Other food was not. The Library room did not have a good reading light. Also most of the book shelves was empty.Not a lot needed, but should have been a few more to make it look like a library.Did not like tub being so close to bed if not careful you could fall in just getting out of bed. Was told shuttle service was all day to take you to mall, casino and cafes, but when asked was told it started running at 4 pm. . I will not stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Estell5 -

Thank you for sharing your experience! We appreciate your time and making us aware of the things that need attention so we can continue to improve, both as a team and as a hotel. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay but I hope that we may regain your trust in the future.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had a good time, it was a fun stay and we really liked that we could pick which theme room we wanted to stay in, we picked the Presidential Suite which was cool, i wanted to try the Camelot one but the wife wasn't having any of it due that the tub/jacuzzi looked like a boat, so we did the presidential, my favorite thing would have to be the vibrating bed, made me think of National Lampoons National Vacation when Chevy Chase is on the bed with the vibrating bed, although this bed was a lot nicer than the one in the movie, the huge fountain that was beside the hotel was beautiful. I would come back to this place although i think my heart is set on the Camelot room,or one of the other luxury rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Laruetl -

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us a review! We appreciate your time and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Maybe next time you can convince your wife to give the Camelot a try! It's a popular favorite around here & we are sure you both would enjoy it! We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Chateau soon no matter what suite you both decide! They are all wonderful!

Sincerely,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in the Presidential Suite. The bed was vert comfortable and had a built in massager. The whirlpool tub was big enough for two people. Breakfast is included in your stay and delivered to your room. The wine bar had a nice patio to sit out on and relax. This place is close to the Legends shopping center, Speedway, and Hollywood Casino. Staff was pleasant and hotel was well kept. We will be going back to stay in the Camelot Suite.

Room Tip: Look at website to pick out theme room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mkltll -

Thank you so much for sharing your experience! I'm so happy your time here was wonderful & that you were able to visit our d'Nile Wine Bar! We appreciate the amazing review and look forward to welcoming you back when you stay in the Camelot Suite!

Sincerely,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is our favorite place to go for a short getaway! I cannot express how much we love this place and everything about it. It is so romantic and perfect for a night with your significant other. The rooms are so cool and you feel you are not in Kansas any more! We are so ready to go back and try another room. The shuttle service is GREAT, as we love to go to the D'nile bar for a few drinks and then over to the legends for dinner. This last stay we got to meet the owner Steve, I must say he so kind and put his whole heart and soul into this awesome place. The Jacuzzi tubs are our favorite part!! So fun!! Service is great, breakfast is good, we have not one complaint. You need to go check out this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Jferguson5 -

We appreciate you so much and the time you took to write such an awesome review for us! It never gets old hearing guest testimonies about how amazing the stay was. The owner did pour his heart and soul into Chateau Avalon and will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay once again! I hope you were able to become a Passport Member and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed in the buckingham room it was Nice. But the outside security light kept me me awake. Worst night sleep. Breakfast was a 2 out of 5. Wine bar was a plus. 2$ beer. Great flatbread. If breakfast was good and no security light I would have rated very good

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura T, Director of Marketing & Revenue at Chateau Avalon, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Damerson -

I apologize that your stay had some hiccups in it, we appreciate the time you took to inform us with this feedback. Thanks to guest like you we are able to improve on the things that need attention immediately.

Best Regards,
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Avalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.