We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just "meh" at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lone Star
1501 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
913-334-9995
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 221 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
451 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Just "meh" at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hubby and kiddo and I stopped in for a late lunch / early supper here on a Sunday around 4:30 p.m. There were plenty of open tables at this hour and we were seated immediately. Our server was pleasant, but not as knowledgeable or as attentive as we would have liked. She took our drink orders and we perused the menus. I unwrapped my silverware from my napkin and saw that my knife still had food stuck to it. Ugh.

I was sad to see that this restaurant doesn't offer lower-calorie menu options. We got our waters and my kiddo and I ordered, but my husband had some questions. Instead of trying to help him through the menu, she just kept asking if he needed more time and that she'd come back. So finally, he just picked something. She brought out his salad and the rolls with the sweet butter. He asked for freshly-cracked pepper, and instead got a story about how they "used" to have pepper but that the 2-foot shaker got lost... blah blah blah.

The rest of the food came out quickly, but it wasn't impressive. I ordered the steak salad... the lettuce was limp and didn't look very fresh. The steak was cooked just as I asked, but one whole side of the small steak was nothing but gristle. The salad was covered in fried onions that didn't seem very fresh, so I picked all of those off.

Hubby's steak was cooked as he asked, but it wasn't great. Kiddo's burger "tasted funny" and she only took about two bites before rejecting it outright. Even though most of the food was still on our plates, the waitress seemed oblivious. All in all, we ended up having to flag her down three times, and another waitress kept our waters filled.

The place was clean and in good repair, and everyone was very nice... but I doubt we will return. There are too many other really good places in this area to settle for mediocre food and service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    12
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

They have a nice selection on their menu, although I have only tried one thing, I get the salmon every time it is fantastic and prices are good. Nice decor and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Tender Filet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ate at Lone Star twice over the weekend...steakhouses tend to be friendly to protein/low carb diets. The first encounter, I ordered a 6oz. filet mignon, steamed broccoli, steamed spinach, and a side salad/no dressing. The filet was incredibly tender and excellent flavor. The broccoli and spinach were also very flavorful. The side salad was a little skimpy. The second encounter, I ordered a 8oz. filet mignon, steamed broccoli, steamed spinach, and a side salad/no dressing. The filet was again, very tender and excellent flavor. The broccoli and spinach were also very flavorful. Lone Star must have an incredible margin on their salads, yet again, the salad was very sparse. The service was very good both times with very good atmosphere also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is our go-to spot for dinner when visiting the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed nearby at Great Wolf Lodge and we always have to have dinner at least once at Lone Star. Great atmosphere and awesome food. Service was friendly and fast. Great kid menu options, not just chicken fingers. I had ribs that were tasty and fall off the bone, while my wife had grilled salmon which was delicious. We also really enjoy their wedge salad!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband had the Outlaw dinner plate. He loved it! My steak was undercooked so I sent it back. It took a long time to come back and when it did it was charcoal burnt. The restaurant did not "offer" anything for "missing the mark" on the steak or the long wait, where my husband's food sat getting cold. Besides that, our server was very friendly and professional. We were in and out of there in one hour on an early Friday evening. It was very nice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.