We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tacos Al Pastor I've Ever Had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonito Michoacan

Bonito Michoacan
1150 Minnesota Ave, Kansas City, KS 66102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 221 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Tacos Al Pastor I've Ever Had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a hidden gem this place is. They have the BEST tacos al pastor I'v ever had. Even better than when I had them in Mexico recently! Tender meat, pineapple, lime,onion, cilantro and salsa verde! Yum. Have heard the tortas are delicious too. Make you try a their Horchata drink. Delicous!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good burritos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been here three times. Every time I get the mega burrito with a different kind of meat. They have a ton of other stuff but I'm a white country boy so I have no idea what half the food is. Like I said good burritos though. Fresh meats. Fresh salsa. Yum yum

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otavalo, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“$1 Tacos on Tuesdays and Thursdays! So Good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is a wonderful hidden gem. I went to the Olathe, KS one and loved it. We ate at the little restaurant in the back and had their $1 tacos. They were so good! I highly recommend the "Asada" or "Pastor" flavors. Plus, I had a great time looking at all the different items they have in the market area. Lots of fun items to discover there. Great experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican restaurant and market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a really good taqueria and market. There were a great variety of tacos and things--lamb--that we'll have to go back and try another time. There was a self serve cart filled with salsa, pickled peppers, onions, pico, limes etc. The market had a meat counter in back and a nice selection of fresh vegetables. There were some staples like beans available in bulk--something I'd never seen at a Mexican grocery. This might be one of the best Mexican places in the midwest--so far, better than any one I've come across in Iowa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food and grocery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I have not had a chance to eat at the restaurant side but I did get to peruse the grocery, bakery and meat counter. After living in South America for a couple of years finding a store that has a good selection of Hispanic food is a real treat. My top purchase was a bottle of maracuya (passion fruit) nectar that tastes true to the actual juice which is a hard thing to accomplish. I will be recommending this store to anyone in the area that wants authentic Hispanic products or Mexican food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonito Michoacan also viewed

 

Been to Bonito Michoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonito Michoacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.