We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property but glitchy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good property but glitchy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This is an up to date Hampton, with a nice breakfast bar, pool, and spacious rooms. It is 20 minutes from downtown, close to the track, shopping and lots of chain restaurants. The main drawback is inconsistent employee training. For instance, there was a used coffee filter in my coffee maker, and no cups in the bathroom (I eventually found them next to the ice bucket on the desk). I overheard housekeepers complaining about disorganized carts, so they weren't able to properly stock rooms. Meanwhile, I was woken up at 2:15 am by a noisy set of guests that I could hear come in the front door, talk down the corridor and inside their rooms. Shouldn't the desk clerk have asked them to keep it down when they came in? I'm not sure I would go back, given the distance from downtown KC and other Hamptons nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I will be sharing your concerns with our staff so that we can work to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    70
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
51
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in the family suite (301) and my 7 & 10 year old loved it. Think of the Majestic Bear rooms at Great Wolf Lodge and this is the wilderness motif you get. The kids had their own sleeping area – bunk bed, TV, and desk areas with rocking chairs. This room has ample kitchen area with a full refrigerator too. Usual Hilton quality of a newer hotel. Very clean. The hallways were nice and cool for a July stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the suite, we hope you come back to enjoy it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South St. Paul, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Located next to the motor speedway, and near the water park, and convenient to restaurants and shopping... overall a nice experience for my daughter and I. This was out second Hampton Inn stay during our trip - and both were nice. Ours was a Sunday night stay, so quiet was kind of a given, but very clean and well kept property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
I am glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay and liked the area, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent hotel for staying near/around the KS Speedway! Pool is good sized. Fitness room is small, but provides for 1 or 2 persons. Breakfast daily is good. Extremely helfpul staff and numerous restaurants, movie theaters, and shopping close by. Good value for your money. Easy on/off to 435 and just far enough away to not be affected during Sporting (soccer) or T-Bones (Baseball) games, but walking distance to both.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the area, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Monday breakfast menu was limited. There was no fruit. The orange juice was not good. Bed covers were too hot. I take out the interior pad to make the covers comfortable. The location near Dave's Restaurant, Cabelas and Stover's Ice Cream/ Candy store is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have addressed the issues with the breakfast. We hope you come back to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Hampton Inn is a good hotel if you are in the Kansas City area for buisness reasons. It's close to a big shopping area. You NEED a car because downtown Kansas is quite far away. Everybody is friendly, clean and nice rooms

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place had all the amenities I needed. So many close restaurants and shopping. And the free internet for a day was incredibly helpful. Loved the complimentary breakfast as well. The overall location was exactly where I needed. The staff were very nice and freindly

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete F, Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the area, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Speedway, Kansas City
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites at Village West
0.6 mi away
Chateau Avalon
Chateau Avalon
#11 of 20 in Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West

Address: 1400 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Kansas City / Village West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.