We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10401 Cabela Drive, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
A TripAdvisor Member
“What a waste of money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2004

There are too many things for me to list them all, so I'll write a few. The light in the bathroom is so dim it may as well not be there at all, everything was extremely overpriced, it is hard to find privacy to get changed into your swimming suit, 4:00 check-in, etc......

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    246
    149
    127
    67
See reviews for
517
10
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

We checked into the Lodge 10-30-04. From the initial phone call to make the reservations, to checking out 11-01-04, the staff were nothing less than professional, pleasant, and eager to make our stay one of the most memorable. They had a trick or treat trail, a "Lodge version of Wizard of OZ" and gift/treat bags for the kids that beat anything I've ever seen. Our children, 5,6,and 13 had a great time. The waterpark is adaptable to all ages. The food was great and so were our servers. I don't feel like the price is high at all considering you have your choice of an awesome room, entertainment and you feel like you are truly being taken care of.
It is so worth it when it's all under one roof.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2004

Great wolfe lodge is an exciting fun filled place to bring your children. The prices are a little high but it's definately a great experience for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2004

My husband and I went for our anniverssary night. The check-in wasn't until 4pm. We asked to get in earlier but we couldn't even though the hotel was practically empty. When we did get our room it was very dirty. The bathroom had not been cleaned. The floor was not vaccumed. There was food and even jewelry on the floor. It looked like only the sheets and towels had been changed. I thought it would be full of nature but everything was plastic. There were no plants or trees around the pool outside. That night the music at the pool was blaring and we finally had to call the desk to turn it off at 2am. I think this was a mistake but I'm not sure.

We had fun in the water park but did not get to use the outside pool during the day because we didn't get to check-in until 4pm and the pool didn't open before checkout time the next day at 11am. To get our value out of the cost of the room we went and got our two-year-old to play at the waterpark. There was not much he could do yet and some of the water features were too much for him. But he enjoyed himself. I would not go back again.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2004

This was our first time going to the Great Wolf Lodge. It was so nice. Our kids loved the water slides and the Arcade. You could just stay right there because there was something for them to do all the time. The rooms were very nice to. Very cozy. GREAT PLACE!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2004

My parents suprised me on Christmas with a resveration to go to the Great Wolfe Lodge. We spent Christmas Day there. I was impressed with everything and hope to soon go back. It wasn't crowded, very well managed. The rooms were comfortable and I loved the atmosphere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2004

This place is great. Busy yes but not a bad wait for the slides. The outside pool is shallow which is great for my younger one. We stayed in the Wolf Den room and it was worth the few extra bucks. They have a VCR / TV in the den. A few movies available at the front desk, my also want to bring your own. Great food at the restaurant too! Definitely would return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 10401 Cabela Drive, Kansas City, KS 66111
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.