We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly above average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   10401 Cabela Drive, Kansas City, KS 66111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Slightly above average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clearly for kids. Average age for max enjoyment is probably 4-10. Mine were a little older and seemed slightly bored.

The rooms are barely average. We got the largest premium suite and it was still pretty basic, not well lighted.

Bring your own food and drinks. The prices here are pretty high for most add-on things. You can't take them in the water park, but good to have in the room. We ordered pizza for 5 boys from Papa Johns and had it delivered. With coupon it was $30, which was far cheaper than the restaurant here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    246
    150
    127
    67
See reviews for
518
10
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place to take your family. Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean. The kid camp rooms the kids loved them. The water park was great, the zero entry pool was the best since we have four kids under the age of five. There were a large number of lifeguards on duty to make sure everyone was safe in the park. We can not wait to make another trip.

Room Tip: Great shopping very near to the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at Great Wolf Lodge for the first time, and enjoyed it. The water park is great, love that they have life jackets available in all sizes. The room was clean (standard two queen) and comfortable. It's great that there was a fridge and microwave in room, saved us some money on meals. The only negative that I have is all the extras that cost money. I specifically asked before we did the magiquest if it's appropriate for a 4 year old, and was told yes he will have a great time. My husband and I played the game, as there was too much reading, and too many directions for him to follow. So it was VERY expensive for no reward. I am not a fan of arcades (granted my kids are still really young) so we didn't venture into that area, we stuck with the free activities, and they were all fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our high school band came to Kansas City for a competition, so we decided to stay here. It is perfect for groups of kids like this. There is so much to do to keep kids of all ages occupied. It can be expensive though. The Magiquest is fun for them, but it costs $17 for the wand alone, and then $11 for the activation. The waterpark is awesome. We could just let the kids go and play for hours. We had a wonderful time here, it just would have been better if prices weren't so high because some of the kids couldn't afford some of the things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Mo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the indoor water park on a very cold & snowy day in KC. This was a great place to spend my son's 5th birthday. Our children range in age from 11 to 2. There was something for all age groups to do. The employees were very friendly and attentive. My kids are already asking when we can go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My kids love going to GWL usually we visit the Traverse City Michigan Location.

This time we booked 4 rooms for extended family at the KC location. Will not be dropping that kinda of money at GWL again.

Lets see check in was standing in line for 1:30 while extremely loud music blasted. It might have been appropriate for teens but it was way to loud. I could not hear the clerk and the clerk could not hear me. Could have been because of the extremely loud music, Made me think if they turned down the music check in would have been that much faster and that long line \ first impression would have been much better.

We were there for four nights and five days. And the elevator was broken the whole time. Not a big deal unless a member of your family is in a wheel chair and has to wait for the one elevator that is always packed. Spent on average 2 hours a day waiting for the elevator. It was seriously ridiculous. One of my fond memories is bringing my daughter in the wheel chair to the front desk and asking when the elevator would be fixed. They directed me to the stair's.

The restaurant- I thought it might not have been busy because of the high level of competition in the area. No, not busy because of quality reasons. Its a kid \ family based hotel yet they are out of crayons. Not hard to see when the big basket of crayons is getting low , order more, not hard to do. We had a party of 15 people, including us they had 17 people in the restaurant. They gave us TWO menus! We asked for more guess what they were out. You have to be kidding me you only have TWO menu's! What if more people came in!?!? Who is running this place!?!? Food was over all poor quality and over priced. I expected the over priced but the quality was unacceptable. Had to send my fires back three times because they were cold and when I say cold I mean still Icy on the inside.

Speaking of cold, the water was colder then at past visits to other GWL's.

The rooms were run down. Carpet was in need of repair, wall paper sagging on the wall, water damage on the ceiling. The sink and tub would not drain. The TV was an old Tube style, my kids didn't know what it was. Ya need an update for the prices you charge.

Quiet hours were not enforced. Partly a parental issue of some of the guests but overall the responsibility of the hotel.

Over all a huge disappointment for the price I payed. Knowing it could have been better is what hurts the most. Decent management seems to be lacking at this location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Schedule ahead. I'm serious, or you'll be disappointed. This place fills up quickly and close to travel dates the pricing goes up not down.

The check in was very confusing to say the least. We required additional passes to the waterpark. The girl at check in kept saying this changed our rate and that the passes are different. And was vague on what she meant and quoted us other room configurations. The final answer is this: our room included four passes for the entire stay; additional passes (same rate) are $30 per day. It's not complicated, why do they need to complicate the explanations.

The Waterpark is fun. Multiple slides where you come down in 2 or 3 person tubes. I found it frustrating in the delay at the top. An attendant places a tube in the chute then signals you forward. Well two different chutes have people coming from the same line. Often the attendant would send 2 or 3 groups down one tube while ignoring the other. They need a cleaner system.

Water Safety- Excellent marks here. There are plenty of guards and they are very active checking the pools and water areas for people in trouble, or misbehaving. Your children are in good hands. Very well trained.

Waterpark has both indoor and outdoor areas. Too early in season for outdoor to be open so we only did indoor activities. Water temperature was a very comfortable warm. Well maintained facilities, and very interesting visually.

Outside restaurants and activities: Excellent location. Legends shopping mall close by. Many many restaurants nearby. You could walk to most.

Parking is adequate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 10401 Cabela Drive, Kansas City, KS 66111
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Kansas City
Great Wolf Lodge Kansas City
Great Wolf Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.