We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Minnesota Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great location and nice room. Had a Keurig in the room for my morning tea which was nice. Refrigerator and microwave too! Staff was friendly and parking was free behind the hotel in a secure parking garage. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    77
    46
    15
    7
See reviews for
39
54
14
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have traveled across the country and loved every single hilton brand hotel except for this one. We booked last minute on points and got a 2 double bed room. We knew we were in for smaller than the queen beds we were used to, but that is the only bed size this hotel carries besides the king. The manager was very kind upon check in. We arrived late and just wanted to get up to our room and go to sleep after a long day of adventures. Once we got into the room my daughter found urine in the toilet, with the seat still up. There were food crumbs and trash in the floors and a big blue stain like bubble gum had been scrapped up recently on the carpet. I decided to call the manager to alert him to our dirty room and when I leaned down to reach for the phone I noticed a FULL Cinnamon BUN or Donut with a few bites taken out of it on the edge of the ill fitting bed. The double bed was just sitting on what appeared to be a queen size frame and there was about 2-3 extra inches on either edge of the bed frame which was annoying in itself. I am not sure how the maid would not see a donut when changing the sheets... so my fear is did they change the sheets??? I did speak to the manager and he was very apologetic and said that is not their standard and offered to have us possibly move a few rooms down, but we had already unloaded and were very tired so we declined the offer and just went to relax and sleep. I did ask him for 2 more breakfast certificates since there were 4 of us for breakfast and only 2 get it free with hhonors. He did oblige and had them waiting for me in the morning.
Unfortunately the hallways of the hotel smelled musty and damp and the room smelled the same. The mini fridge in the room was left open by someone (maid or last occupants) also, so when we arrived it was hot, wet from the defrost around the bottom and took most of the night to end up barely chilling our drinks. We had insulin that we needed to keep refrigerated, so that ended up staying in a cooler we luckily had instead of the fridge.
When I checked in I saw a note on the registration desk with a description of how to change settings on your mattress to fit your comfort... I am not sure if only certain rooms had this feature, but ours did not. Our mattress was the smallest and most uncomfortable one of all 11 hotels we stayed in during our 19 day trip. My husband and I agree that we will avoid any other double beds if we can help it. Why don't they just make people more comfortable and spend the few extra dollars per room to upgrade to queen mattress? This night and room were not typical for a hilton property and I am not sure if we just happened to have a dud as according to other reviewers they enjoyed this property. There was a fairly bad storm for about 30 minutes after we checked in and our TV service was out for most of the time, so we ended up just turning it off and tried going to sleep.
On a more positive note the breakfast was nice, the juice was excellent and the service was fast and friendly! Parking was ample and seemed safe as we had no issue with that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was a lovely hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms are spacious with nice amenities. Kuerig, small refrigerator, microwave. The beds are very comfortable. The parking is free. There is a small bar and restaurant. While I didn't dine at the hotel a friend had salmon that looked wonderful with lovely vegetables. The iced lemon water in the lobby is a nice touch during hot and humid weather. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor with a north facing window. It was quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Quiet, clean and great staff. I have stayed here many times and I am always satisfied. I'll stay again whenever in the area. Across the river from KC-MO too which is convenient for those nights I want to be in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very central hotel 5 mins from Union Station and Towers. Located one side a Industrial and on the Res/Public Offices. Parking arm was broken in parade but the day we checked out. There is a pretty good Mexican restaurant within a 2 min walk from the hotel. The hotel was for the most part very quiet. We did have an issue with a broken closet and no towels but they were resolved, however our toilet was running constantly from check in to check out (didn't bother us greatly though). Drinks at the bar were good but very pricey, my long island was over 10 bucks... Breakfast was not free. We had no problems with the free internet. They did have a pool that look decent but we didn't use it. Only complaint was that we had to wait at reception for someone every single time (other than check in), which got old fast. Would stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good Hotel, Hotel A/C HAD water coming out of it, The parking Arms was broken. Great staff. Would recommend Again for a stay. Farther away from the city then I though. Very quiet area, Very Industrial.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel has been completely redecorated within the past year so it's like new again. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Free parking garage is a plus. And location is convenient both for Kansas City, Kansas and for downtown Kansas City, Missouri.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City

Address: 520 Minnesota Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.