We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Newer hotel, clean. Rooms are decent sized. Pool is small and at its deepest is 2ft 9in , which was just fine for the children. Hotel is about 1.5 miles from the Uptown Theater, took us 5 minutes to get there. Breakfast offered your usual items. Staff was polite and accommodating. I would stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear jmcfarland76,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
9
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Comfy bed, good breakfast with a shining star of a breakfast lady, fridge that worked. Lobby is on the second floor of this building, with entrance in the rear of the building. Only glitch was that front desk knew I anticipated a 3 pm phone call and was anxious to get in my room before then. They managed that nicely, thank you, with a few minutes to spare. But phone call didn't come. And didn't come. Finally got it after 6 pm. Front desk said they were too busy to answer phone earlier. Manager next day very apologetic, certainly, but what if it had been an emergency for these folks who have people admitted to the Med Center? At least excellent wi-fi, so maybe they have a cell phone that works if the hospital calls.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear lemons1,

We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and we use this to continue to improve the high quality of our product and service. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a family emergency that brought us to KU Medical Center. The staff were all very helpful and seemed to enjoy thier job. One clerk in particular was very helpful for us. Her name is Maggie. She went above and beyond to make sure our whole family was taken care of as there were 3 groups of us staying. They also give a special discount if you are there with the med center. Thanks for making our trip as comfortable as possible.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I booked a room online for 5 nights through Holiday Inn and received a rate quote for average nightly cost and a Confirmation number. When I arrived, the hotel applied a different higher rate, despite my showing the clerk the printout from Holiday Inn showing the confirmed reservation information.

On checkout, the attending clerk [different person] was polite but said she was unable to address the problem. An email was left in the event that higher ups reconsidered and wanted to correct the problem, but no follow up has been received. On a humorous note, she asked whether I would be making further bookings with the hotel. In turn, I politely explained that, in light of the bait and switch tactics of their booking operation and unwillingness to correct the error when brought to their attention, I would not be making future bookings. In light of other lodging options in KC, I would recommend to friends, family and anyone using Trip Advisor to avoid Holiday Inn Express because of their deceptive and dishonest practices. It is a shame because the hotel service was otherwise fine and there appeared no need to cheat and abuse customers.

Room Tip: Requested room on top floor for quiet, but apparently mechanical equipment on roof defeated that goa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Paul L,

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at our hotel. Any email sent to the hotel management would have gone straight to me and I do not recall seeing one regarding this matter. We understand that we can not erase what has already taken place but we would like the opportunity to make it right. Please contact the hotel and ask directly for the General Manager. Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had never been to Kansas City before and chose this HIE for its location. And for that we were pleased. We had easy access to downtown as well as Independence and Oregon Trail sites to the east. Also, there are a lot of interesting restaurants within walking distance (in good weather) on 39th street on the other side of the medical center.

The desk staff was great -- very friendly and helpful.

Why a "3"? Well, the place is noisy. I could hear lots of hall noise and some next room noise. Earplugs were a must for any hope of sleeping. Also, the shower was really poorly designed. I usually don't really notice or pay attention to such things but this shower was hard to miss. It was a walk-in (no tub) and was designed such that the shower head was about 8 feet tall and aimed at a corner. The high water source meant the water hitting my 5'4" head was sort of drizzly. And the aim meant I was stuck in a corner trying not to bump my elbows on the walls. If I had only been staying one night it wouldn't have been a big deal but 4 nights made it really annoying and memorable.

The website says they have an underground parking garage but I never saw it. Instead, guests were directed to park in an exposed lot that had a security guard at night. We felt safe and didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our hotel. We hope to see you next time you are back in Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KANSAS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed at this location while visiting University of Kansas Med Center. The desk staff was one of the best we have encountered. The room was on the top floor and overlooked the parking lot behind the property. The bed was comfy and the room was quite large. The location was within walking distance of the Med center and was easily accessed off of I-35 about 1.5 miles. There was a burger joint and taco shop right out front. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marionville, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Myself and a few friends stayed the night this past Saturday. From the moment we walked up to the front desk to check in we were blown away at how helpful the desk clerk was. We were going to see a concert and was wondering if we should park near the venue and take a cab or what we should do. She told us how much parking was and suggested the cab would be cheaper and easier. Then she tracked down a cab company that arrived in less than 5 minutes (unheard of), and also found out all the Ins and Outs of the venue we were going to. In my 10 years of traveling for business and when I say traveling I spent maybe 20% of the year at home and the rest in hotels, I have never had someone go above and beyond like this. The rooms were also nice and I was staying using reward points and oddly enough I received my platinum recognition and the option of water or points which I have never received when staying on points. Night and day difference on how I have been treating in other hotels. If you are staying in KC and want to be close to power and light or the Med Center choose this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center

Address: 3932 Rainbow Blvd, Kansas City, KS 66103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located acroos from KU Medical Center. We have 2 Meeting rooms with 1500 sq ft of meeting space. Located close to Westport and Country Club Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express at KU Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.