We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good design” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlitterbahn Waterpark

Schlitterbahn Waterpark
9400 State Ave, Kansas City, KS 66112
+1 913-312-3110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 things to do in Kansas City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Make summer's best memories at Schlitterbahn Kansas City Waterpark. Experience unique adventures like King Kaw, the longest inner-tubing ride in the Midwest and Boogie Bahn, the only surfing ride in Kansas City. Plus challenge an uphill water coaster, surge through whitewater rapids and cruise a lazy river while the little ones explore our specially designed play pools. At Schlitterbahn parking, tubes, life jackets and boogie boards are free! You can even bring your own picnic. Its the most fun!
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good design”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been there twice. The second time was better because more of the park was open. We liked the fact that you can go from one attraction to another without getting out of the water.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    81
    49
    29
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wear sandals!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

While the water rides were fun, they wasn't much difference between them. No wave pool was a bummer. The worst part was unlike OOF there is not grass in this whole park. Guests are forced to walk on white hot concrete. Poorly designed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Manager at Schlitterbahn Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the great advice. We also recommend that our guests wear appropriate footwear inside the park in our frequently asked questions section on our website. If guests do not bring their own footwear we also provide reasonably priced water shoes throughout the park so know one has to go barefoot if they don't want to. We are also, adding additional shade structures again in 2013 but since this is a new park there are going to be some uncovered walkways in the park until the trees get a chance to grow some.

We do however have grassy areas in the park and while we don't have a traditional wave wool we have our Wave Driven river system that will give you some ups and downs and take up to an hour to ride around the entire system. Plus, don't forget all the other amazing rides and slides here at Schlitterbahn Water Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's ok but there are much better waterparks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Expect long lines here. Maybe when they are all done but it i a mess now. Having been to the park in Texas this was disappointing. If you get a tube hang on to it the day we were there they were hard to come by.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing at Schlitterbahn Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We actually have more that enough FREE tubes for all our guests. The only times we run out is when guests take tubes out of the water while they are not playing. If everyone obeys the rules and leaves their tubes for the next guest everything works fine. We doubled the size of the park last year in case you missed it, and by the way, stay tuned, as we are looking at adding some amazing amenities and attractions this coming year as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is great place to go if you... want to bring in your own snacks and picnics, are staying close to the Legends Shopping and entertainment area and don't want to pay to park.
Cons - Expensive for a park that is 3 seasons old and still not complete. Has a swim up bar in the "shallow/baby pool" area where people are sitting at the bar and smoking in the pool. This is gross and not good planning. Concessions are average and expensive. There are good attractions that are open but the place is still under construction and wondering if it will ever be complete.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing at Schlitterbahn Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Just so you know the Swim up bar is going to be divided away from the kids section this next year and there is no smoking except on the other side of the bar which is not by the kid's play area.

As far as construction in the park, with the doubling of the size of the park in 2012 Schlitterbahn Kansas City Water Park has completed all major construction phases planned inside the water park. Of coarse, as will any major attraction, Schlitterbahn will continue to offer new, exciting, and fun attractions in the future. In fact we even have some pretty exciting new additions on the drawing board for 2013.

We want to make sure our guests have a great time in the park so we do offer normal theme/water park concessions. Over that though, unlike most attractions we allow guests to bring in their own food, as well as providing free parking and tubes to minimize additional costs when visiting the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Compared to other waterparks in the metro, this is a great deal. Not only regarding the price of admission, but the fact that parking is free and you can bring in a cooler with your own food and drinks and save money there. You don't even have to pay to rent an inner tube for some of the slides or to float the lazy rivers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layne P, Director of Marketing at Schlitterbahn Waterpark, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Schlitterbahn here in KC. We look forward to providing you, your friends, and family with a fun place for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schlitterbahn Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Schlitterbahn Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlitterbahn Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.