We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty ribs and sides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cox Brothers BBQ

Cox Brothers BBQ
812 East Chestnut, Junction City, KS 66441
785-579-6606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty ribs and sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the full slab of ribs and two sides. Jack Mac and cheese and onion rings. Mac and cheese good but the o rings were great. You don't get but four or five but they are huge and perfectly cooked and battered. The ribs - remember, pork is a natural product. There is variation between slabs. Mine were not super tender but they were perfectly flavored. I likes them enough to go back the very next day and get another slab. Even better than the first slab, again it is a natural product and there will be some variation. Compliments to the chefs great food. Great sauce too. Got the regular and the mustard both delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wonderful staff. The owner met everyone coming in and would check to make sure everything was to the customer's liking. Food was good and served quickly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good flavor for a high price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Being from Texas and in town for my son returning from Afghanistan..we were looking for some BBQ to take out to the lodge we are staying out. I only wanted meat because we had our own sides at the lodge. So staff was friendly and place is clean and decorated nice. The manager let me try some of the brisket and sausage. I asked for 1 pound of each. Total cost was $29.00. I pay far less in Texas at our fav local spot. It was good...just cost a lot.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Based on other reviews we thought we would find this restrurant to be a good choice. Our experience was that the meat was very fatty, tasteless without adding your selected sauce, and some bites were hard because it was the meat skin. We had pork sandwitch, cole slaw (watery) and french fries.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really Yummy, Really quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had about 20 people with us and we were all starving. The ordering process is easy, it is relatively inexpensive for what you get, and it was delicious. We really enjoyed our experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cox Brothers BBQ also viewed

 
Junction City, KS
 

Been to Cox Brothers BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cox Brothers BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.