We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Restaurant I Found in Independence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Jack's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Uncle Jack's Restaurant
104 North Penn Avenue, Independence, KS
620-330-7090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Independence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
El Dorado, Kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant I Found in Independence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I have eaten here twice. The first time, I had the chicken fried steak which was one of the best I have had. This time, I had the 14 ounce KC strip. All the dinners come with green beans which are cooked with bacon and are excellent and a choice of one other side from an extensive menu. The strip was excellent quality with only very minimal fat. The only thing that keeps me from giving 5 stars is that I ordered the steak medium rare and it came out medium well. Eating alone, I sat at the bar both times and service was fast and efficient. The first time I was there on a Friday night and they had a DJ playing music after 6:00. It is a sports bar so have numerous TVs for watching games. The KC strip is fairly expensive but the meat is very high quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ok but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I think this place is a bit too pricey and there is certainly nothing amazing about their food. I had some grilled chicken strips with weird orange seasoning on them that was not good at all - very bitter!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hard to Say...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Went in, seated ourselves, and got drinks immediately. 30 minutes later, 3 server's passed us numerous times without getting an order, although we were sitting, with closed menus, making eye contact. Finally, I told them we had to leave. Our server said "ok" and brought us a bill for over $7 for the tea.

Yeah, go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Finally Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We have been to many restaurants in this town. This one is by far the best. Concerning the last review about children- the age is 10 which is stated on the door. I think it's a good policy because it is a BAR/ restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Kansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“No children allowed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This review is late as I have been thinking over if I even have a review... But other families should be made aware.
Four of us, with my 2 year old daughter, tried to go here for a burger one evening about 6 pm. This was about 2 - 3 months ago (December?). We were turned away at the door because of our underage daughter. No one under 21? I asked if 6pm was just too late; No, no children are allowed at any time. It's too bad as we have thought about this place several times since and won't go. All together about 16 adult meals, 4 appetizers, and probably a few drinks have been lost in the last 2 - 3 months, and the people I have told that have children to not bother trying to go here. I can understand having a time that no children are allowed, as Turbos does, but not at any time ever? Pretty shortsighted.
Parking can be a hassle due to several evening businesses within one block of here.
Of course I can't tell if the service or food has gotten any better since I was here over 2 years ago...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Jack's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Jack's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Jack's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.