We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean room. Comfortable bed. For the price I would...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2917 West Main Street, Independence, KS 67301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
52
13
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had the oppurtunity to stay at both the "national" chain hotels in Independence the last couple days. Both were fine and both had very friendly front counter customer service help. However, this hotel is a little more "modern" and pays a little closer attention to the small details. The breakfast is better then the other also. Would probably recommend either for a good nights sleep but given the choice I would lean toward this one. Had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kcmo
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Overall this place has always been very friendly and accommodating to my needs. The fitness ctr that they have made arrangements with is wonderful and one reason why I come back to this motel. One suggestion is some of the rooms are starting to look a little tired and could stand to be upgraded. The motel is usually always busy since I've been coming here. Otherwise the staff are always nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nothing was horrible, nothing was great. Its exactly what I payed for in a hotel in a very small town like Independence, KS. Breakfast is small with not a ton of variety, but everything was fine. I would recommend it if your looking for a cheap place to stay for a night like I was.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived late at night and were scheduled for a very early morning departure. The first room we entered had a stale, musty smell, and only one bed (we needed two). Stephanie was very helpful in accommodating our needs. We had six rooms booked and took the initiative to call me after the last of our team checked in to let us know that everyone had made it in safely.

Our second room had a much fresher smell and was quite comfortable. The bedding was similar to what we've experienced at higher end hotels, with what appear to be washable duvet covers. After our very short night, we were surprised to see that Stephanie had set out breakfast a little early because she knew our crew of eight were heading out early. We appreciated this hospitality, especially after such a short slumber.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence

Address: 2917 West Main Street, Independence, KS 67301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Microtel Independence
Independence Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.