We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2917 West Main Street, Independence, KS 67301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    36
    18
    8
See reviews for
52
13
15
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KEARNEY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

By the time I booked, only smoking rooms were available - so part of this poor review is probably my own fault. Our non-smoking family was overwhelmed by the inescapable smell of smoke in the room. There was an empty beer can in one of the drawers, and stains on the window seat cushion, and the floor was a little sticky. Old air conditioning units stacked up and stored in the stair well just didn't look good. Aside from that ... Beds were comfortable, setup of the room was average to good, lots of counter space in the bathroom, plenty of towels. Coffee was sub-par and "breakfast" was unimpressive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very good value; staff friendly and helpful.

new beds v nice.

Poor water pressure in 2nd fllor rooms, however( shower)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The only complaint that I have is that the shower head in my room leaked water. It literally sprayed water out of it and got you wet outside the shower as you turned it on. The type of shower head used was fantastic, it had a strong stream out of it. Many hotel showers put out only a fine mist that I dislike.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

stayed here for a month, price was affordable, staff was very friendly, had a small continental breakfast bar, however, there is no coffee pot in the rooms, only the suites, so pretty inconvienent to have to walk to the lobby every morning several different times for a cup of coffee. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean, so only complaint would be coffee pots and the key worked in the back door only 50% of the time which caused me to have to walk all the way around to get into my room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here during a local family reunion for 4 days. Booked in advance & obtained a very favorable rate. Room as very clean & comfortable - service by staff was excellent. We stayed on the 3rd floor & it was very quiet. Good continental breakfast. Close to restaurants, etc. Wal-Mart right next door. I would say this is the best motel in this town.....

Room Tip: Book online in advance if possible - ask for your discount if applicable (AARP, Senior, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This property has really nice staff, but the rooms were not very clean. The bathroom had a grimy layer over everything. There was hair on the floor, mildew on the bathtub creases and soap/toothpaste grime on the light switches and door. The bedroom had stains on the carpet- some were sticky, and we found dirty socks under the air conditioner.... needless to say I was ready to get back home.
There are no coffee pots in the room and breakfast was limited- we picked up our own at Walmart.
Again the front desk workers were very nice, but that cannot make up for the lack of cleanliness in the room! (I think lack of competition is the reason this hotel can rate #1.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Independence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence

Address: 2917 West Main Street, Independence, KS 67301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Independence Hotel Independence
Microtel Independence
Independence Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Independence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.