We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Plesant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Super Plaza, Hutchinson, KS 67501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hutchinson
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Plesant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, I had a very positive experience at this hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, there were luggage carts at easy access, and the rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was also your standard hotel breakfast.

Other parts of the hotel seemed a little less clean. The pool had some dirt on the floor and there were people working in the stairwells and leaving empty paint cans. The fitness center is pretty small and without any clean area on the floor to sit and stretch. Overall though, a good value for the price paid.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
4
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basehor, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I usually don't take the time to write a review, but I had such a wonderful experience that I wanted to take a min. and tell you why you should stay at this Hotel. I was traveling with my young son, for a mini vacation before school started. When we checked in we were greeted by a very friendly staff, which is always a good start. When we walked into the lobby I commented on the décor, because that's how I make my living and I was impressed. The room was recently remodeled and was comfortable and had everything we would need. This was the "Best Night Sleep Away From Home" that I've had in years, the bed was Awesome! We enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and the morning breakfast...and for coffee lovers like myself, it was available all day :) I have a few special needs due to severe allergies, and the staff noted them and made the effort to take care of me. I'm going back this weekend for another stay, and I highly recommend this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had previously stayed in other pet friendly hotels around the country. If changed for a pet at all, there was a one time fee. Here we where charged $25 for our pet for a two night stay. We stayed in room 109, that they claimed smelled due to the carpet being changed, however it smelled like someone had been smoking in there. The mattress unlike the one in the Wichita location (which was very comfortable), this one was very uncomfortable. Of course being near the train tracks didn't help either. The man behind the desk was dressed in a casual shirt, and when I told him that we didn't need our room made up, and to note that the dog was in the room, he advised me that we weren't allowed to leave the dog unattended. We only leave for short periods of time, ( and leave him in the bathroom when we aren't there) I told him the dog is use to hotels and does't bark, I ended up leaving my cell # in case they needed to reach us, they didn't. Instead of worrying about a small dog in the middle of the day, they should pay attention to the people hanging by the back door openly drinking alcohol. Also don't assign people with a dog to the room across from the pool..Luckily our dog didn't bark. Breakfast was ok, but the attendants didn't so much as smile, not a friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don' take room 109, as it smells and is across from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne T, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our Comfort Inn & Suites. We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Our Comfort Inn & Suites is proud to be a pet friendly hotel. We charge a one-time nonrefundable fee of $25.00 per pet. To better accommodate all our guests, both those who travel with their beloved furry friends, and those who do not, we have a hotel pet policy. To avoid potential disturbances, we do not allow pets to be left in a room unattended. There are times that we will make an exception when necessary, when we are assured that the pet is a seasoned traveler and will not cause a disturbance to fellow guests. I’m very glad to hear that we were able to do so in your case, and hope you understand the necessity for the pet policies to be in place to suitably accommodate all of our guests’ needs.

You will be happy to know that our facility is officially 100% Smoke-Free. We are happy to offer all nonsmoking guest rooms and public areas to all of our guests. To my knowledge, the room you occupied has never been a smoking room, and should not have an odor of any sort. Just to be certain, I have carefully treated the room with an ozonator and odor eliminator to ensure superb freshness.

We do not allow consumption of alcoholic beverages in any public area. This includes the Lobby, Swimming Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center, Guest Laundry, or exterior facilities. This includes the parking lot. If our staff witnesses any such activity, we politely ask the guest to remove the alcoholic beverages from the vicinity and relocate it to their suite. In this regard, if you have a concern at any hotel you are residing at, please contact management to resolve this matter immediately. In the hospitality industry, our guests' satisfaction is our #1 priority. Our staff will go out of their way to make certain that your every need is met to ensure that your stay is guaranteed 100% flawless.

We can assure you that we will use the information you provided to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Rayne T.
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
1601 Super Plaza
Hutchinson KS
620-669-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

For me, a test of a hotel is the reception from the front desk on. I can put up with a leaky faucet (which there was) as is the case with any home. But seeing a friendly face sets the tone. I was warmly and efficiently received by the woman (forgot her name) that helped me the evening of August 8th.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrenceville,ga
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night here for a funeral and chose it based on the recommendations from Tripadvisor. The rooms were very clean and updated. Check in was a bit slow. I had called 2 times to ask for a room type ( I had booked 2 rooms) and when I got in at 6:30 p.m. the requests I had asked for were not made known. The older lady at the front desk was pleasant but not particularly customer friendly. My room had not been assigned. I am a Diamond with Choice and found this to be very odd. Typically, the folio is ready to go. The morning front desk attendant ( with short hair) was great. Breakfast was very nice. I would stay here again. Close to Target and a few places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I live on the edge and did not make reservations before coming to town. :) Being a small town, on line reviews can be a little... I don't know, you just can't tell if its going to be nice or nice for the area..

First I checked out Hutchison's newest hotel, Fairfield Inn by Marriot, which I gage to be aesthetically equal to this hotel (only, possibly they have a bar that this one doesn't have and they are minimum $30 more a night).

I also visited the Ramada. I will not describe the level of weird happening over there. It was terrible. I walked in to no service for over 5 minutes, so I showed myself the pool area, then immediately showed myself the door. I wish I could erase the thought of that place from my mind.

I called Comfort Inn (from the Starbucks across the street), asked if they had a room available for (showing and) early check in. They did. The front desk has been more than accommodating from the moment I walked in the door. The room is exactly as shown on the management photos (which is not usually the case). Its an excellent room space. I suggest the king suite. I did not get the jet tub shown in the photo, but I do have a nice 'living' space, which is nice for reading and eating. Oh, the sofa is fold out, so if needed, an extra bed. The king bed, the bedding, the pillows, everything is perfect.

The pool area could use a few touches to make it match the feel of the rest of the newly renovated hotel, but it is a nice pool/hot tub area.

The complimentary FULL breakfast is added awesomeness. Cookies and juice in the afternoon. DINNER! Seriously, who else has complimentary DINNER?! I mean, tonight it was hot dogs bar, but still, when you arrive tired with kids in tow, free hot food feels like a life saver. :)The free food definitely makes this the best deal in the area.

The hotel is within walking distance to Starbucks, Target and Olive Garden. (Surprisingly, there are a few locally owned coffee shops in the area worth checking out, but I always stop at Starbucks first because I know what I'm getting there.) Your shopping options are Kohls, JC Penney and Target. You can get everything you need at Target. :) Although Olive Garden is no 5 star restaurant, you can get a decent meal there.. In my experience with 3 locally owned restaurants here, you should just stick with what you know.

We will likely be back for several years to come (for space camp). We will choose this hotel every time.

Room Tip: My room is right next to the elevator, absolutely no noise concern. Maybe you want a 2nd or 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice surprise. I have never stayed at a Comfort Inns and Suites before. Usually in small towns there really isn't a lot to choose from and what there is to choose from isn't always that well kept. The Comfort Inns and Suites in Hutchinson KS has recently been remodeled and really is nice. Free WiFi, fridge, microwave, a pool. There is also vending machines and the items are priced comparable to general store prices, not the gouging I have seen at some hotels where it's like $2.50 for a 20oz bottle of soda. It was a bit discouraging to determine that Ice and Vending were only on the first and third floors. If you are on two or 4, prepare to travel with you ice bucket. Huge king size bed that was high off the ground and was very comfortable to lay on. There is no bar at this Hotel but there is a bar at the hotel next door. Nice place to stay if you are passing through or have come to see the sites of Hutchinson, KS.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1601 Super Plaza, Hutchinson, KS 67501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hutchinson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hutchinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hutchinson, KS, we are pleased to be 'at your service.' The Comfort Inn & Suites Hutchinson is located on the Northeast side of Hutchinson, KS. Our 69 well appointed rooms are perfect for the business or leisure traveler. Guests can relax after a long day of meetings or traveling by taking advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all open 24-hours a day. In the morning, help yourself to our complimentary Deluxe Breakfast Buffet from 6:30am - 9:30am featuring scrambled eggs or omelettes, sausage or bacon, country potatoes and hot waffle bar. We host a weekday Welcome Reception with a hot soup or nacho bar, fresh-baked OPtis Spunkmeyer cookies, and refreshments. Our comfortable and spacious Suites feature a sitting area and kitchenette area with a refrigerator and microwave that make them ideal for longer stays and the business traveler. All of our rooms have King or Queen size beds and are equipped with flatscreen TV and complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Located just off of K-61 Highway and 17th St., we are close to many of Hutchinson's major business and shopping locations. We are close to businesses like Dillons Stores Corporate Office, Tyson, Hutchinson Community College, Cargill Salt, and Hutchinson Airport and attractions like the Kansas Cosmosphere & Space Center, Kansas State Fair Grounds, Hutchinson Sports Arena, NJCAA Basketball Tournament, Fun Valley Sports Complex, Salt City Splash Aquatic Center and many restaurants. No matter what brings you to Hutchinson the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the right place for your lodging needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hutchinson Hotel Hutchinson
Holiday Inn Hutchinson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.