We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Super Plaza, Hutchinson, KS 67501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Hutchinson
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Checkin was super easy, I had a reservation and was all set when I walked in. They had fresh baked choco chip cookies, evening snacks and morning breakfast. Room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this new location, same staff, very clean rooms, will stay here again, highly recommended. Great upgrade from the old comfort, great location, close to everything and places to eat with walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here. The room
Was nice, very clean, and the bed was comfy. Having a fridge and microwave was great!! The little sitting area in the King size room was really homey. The lady checking me in was super nice. My only complaints are that the elevator takes forever to close (24 seconds to be exact). But my biggest complaint is that there are still smoking allowed. Despite having a non-smoking room, the halls smelled like a bar. Immediate headache due to smoke allergy. I honestly could not believe that a hotel this nice could allow smoking. I hope they will reconsider this soon or put all smoking rooms on a separate floor.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne T, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear PrincessKeeper,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Comfort Inn & Suites. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

You'll be happy to know that we are going 100% smoke-free! We are in the process of renovating all guest rooms, and as we replace the furniture, draperies and décor, we will be converting all smoking rooms to non-smoking. We are really excited about this change, and the opportunity it gives us to better accommodate our guests.

An additional change we've made since your stay is the elevator. The doors were beginning to close at a slower rate than we preferred. We resolved this issue by replacing the sensor that activates the elevator door. Now it works great and is easily accessible for all.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at our Comfort Inn and Suites. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Rayne Templeton
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Hutchinson KS
620-669-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Family and I are staying a week, current guests now and have been very pleased with the entire hotel. Room is big enough for our family of 3, breakfast is DELICIOUS with a very wide variety of options. We rather eat here than go to any of the restaurants around. The indoor pool and jacuzzi make an entire afternoon at the hotel enjoyable and we actually make the "welcome back food" from 5~7 pm our dinner.
Gregory at the front desk has provided outstanding recommendations for where to find free family activities in town and tips on extended stay rates for future trips. I also enjoy the daily housekeeping, they do a wonderful job. Proximity to things are great but not close enough to disturb. Highly recommend

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha Area
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our check in process was easy and the lady at the desk was very nice. They had fresh baked cookies for us too. Our room was spacious and comfortable, but we discovered only two hangers so I had to go downstairs to get some. Then we discovered that there were only two sets of towels for three people. Another trip downstairs. Later our hairdryer kind of exploded, which meant another trip downstairs, and this time I had to wait a long time.

I did use the workout center and the machines were great. Meanwhile my wife and son used the spa jacuzzi which they said was kind of on the cool side and the jets were not very powerful. They wished they had not gone to use it in that condition.

Our King Bed was really comfortable, but our son who is 22 used the convertible sleeper and he is not a complainer at all - but said it was the worst bed he had ever been in. I saw the mattress and it was really thin and worn out too. The blanket was thin and it was a very cold night, so I brought up an extra blanket from the car.

The TV worked well and had many channels to choose from. The lighting was good and the floors were clean. The bathroom floor though was very dusty behind the door and under the sink area. The frig and microwave were a nice addition to the room.

The breakfast was pretty good with lots of choices, but also very crowded with strangers sharing tables. During the night and in the morning there was a lot of kids running up and down the halls, with many people slamming doors and making lots of noise. Due to the hotel staff not managing the noise well is reason enough for me not to return. The driveway up from the street was not plowed well either presenting a slushy icy entrance way to the hotel.

Check out was fine although the desk clerk was vaccuming and would not turn off the vac so I had to shout my room number to her three times. Seems like if she would have just switched it off for a moment that process would have been better.

There are lots of hotels in this town, and on my next trip through I will choose another one.

Room Tip: No suggestions since I have only been there once
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne T, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Travel Review MdM,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our Comfort Inn & Suites. It's great to know there are people such as yourself who take the time to share their valued opinion.

We purchased the hotel recently and converted it to a Comfort Inn & Suites. We have new management, new ownership, and new franchise affiliation. You'll be glad to know that we are working actively to update all guest rooms and public spaces to provide our guests with superior accommodations and the highest level of service.

Following are some of the updates you can expect from our hotel on your next visit:
*All new guest room furniture, bedding, drapery and décor
*Brand new sofa sleepers with upgraded mattresses
*Microwave and refrigerator in all rooms
*Modern Lobby with new décor, breakfast and banquet seating, and community table
*Updated evening menu with BBQ, fajita bar, and other appetizing dinner options
*New Fitness Center, Business Center, and Guest Laundry

It is our goal to provide each guest with superior service and an always-outstanding experience. Please accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations on your most recent stay. I have spoken with staff and implemented changes to housekeeping and guest assistance procedures. We can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at Comfort Inn & Suites. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Perhaps you’ll make a return visit on your next trip to Hutchinson to witness the exciting changes!

Rayne Templeton
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
1601 Super Plaza
Hutchinson KS 67501
620-669-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were in Hutchinson visiting family for the Thanksgiving weekend and stayed at this property. Everything was great. Rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The location is excellent. There are restaurants and a mall nearby. We couldn't ask for more. We will be returning to Hutchinson since we have family there and will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I checked in on Thanksgiving and stayed for three nights. We have stayed in the Comfort Inn (now Super 8) down the street 8-10 times and it was starting to show it's age. This location used to be a Holiday Inn Express, is not as old and has suites available. Still has window heat/cool units and ours seemed quite loud. We were on the third floor (non-smoking on first and third) so had no thundering herds above us. Front desk and every other employee were friendly. Breakfast was typical Comfort hotel (meat, eggs, biscuits/gravy, waffles etc). On black Friday the meat was a sliced sausage (much larger than breakfast links) in a BBQish sauce. The eggs were a cheese filled omelette already made up. Just like at the old location, salsa is available with breakfast, which flavors up about anything. I noticed some preventative maintenance going on outside and some boxes of new tile in a hallway so this may become an even nicer improvement over the previous location.

Room Tip: Room 312 (only one we have stayed in) is close to elevator and vending/ice. Not noticeably noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne T, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of our new Comfort Inn & Suites! We're really excited to offer a Comfort Inn & Suites at our new location. And as you can see, we are making a lot of changes!!

We're working really hard to upgrade our rooms and provide our guests the best stay possible. We are adding brand new microwaves and refrigerators to all of the rooms, we have a brand new bedding package, and we're now serving a weekday Welcome Reception with a hot Soup or Nacho Bar. We've added a brand new breakfast buffet featuring scrambled eggs or omelettes, maple sausage and bacon, diced potatoes, and a hot waffle bar. We have brand new high-speed internet, so our guests can stay connected when they're on the road.

You can expect more great improvements in the future.

We really appreciate your feedback and support. We'll keep you posted as we move forward with our new rooms and amenities. It is our goal to make certain to provide the best rooms and amenities so your experience at our hotel is the BEST.

Thank you again for your kind words and encouragement. We look forward to welcoming you in the future!

Rayne Templeton
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
1601 Super Plaza
Hutchinson KS 67501
620-669-5200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hutchinson Hotel Hutchinson
Holiday Inn Express Hutchinson Hotel
Holiday Inn Hutchinson
Hutchinson Holiday Inn
Address: 1601 Super Plaza, Hutchinson, KS 67501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hutchinson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Hutchinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hutchinson, KS, we are pleased to be 'at your service.' The Comfort Inn & Suites Hutchinson is located on the Northeast side of Hutchinson, KS. Our 69 well appointed rooms are perfect for the business or leisure traveler. Guests can relax after a long day of meetings or traveling by taking advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all open 24-hours a day. In the morning, help yourself to our complimentary Deluxe Breakfast Buffet from 6:30am - 9:30am featuring scrambled eggs or omelettes, sausage or bacon, country potatoes and hot waffle bar. We host a weekday Welcome Reception with a hot soup or nacho bar, fresh-baked OPtis Spunkmeyer cookies, and refreshments. Our comfortable and spacious Suites feature a sitting area and kitchenette area with a refrigerator and microwave that make them ideal for longer stays and the business traveler. All of our rooms have King or Queen size beds and are equipped with flatscreen TV and complimentary High-Speed Internet Access. Located just off of K-61 Highway and 17th St., we are close to many of Hutchinson's major business and shopping locations. We are close to businesses like Dillons Stores Corporate Office, Tyson, Hutchinson Community College, Cargill Salt, and Hutchinson Airport and attractions like the Kansas Cosmosphere & Space Center, Kansas State Fair Grounds, Hutchinson Sports Arena, NJCAA Basketball Tournament, Fun Valley Sports Complex, Salt City Splash Aquatic Center and many restaurants. No matter what brings you to Hutchinson the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is the right place for your lodging needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list