We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Fun firehouse atmosphere. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Firehouse Cafe
1824 E 4th Ave, Hutchinson, KS 67501-1809
620-669-8836
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 101 Restaurants in Hutchinson
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Cheney, KS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Fun firehouse atmosphere. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Pleasant surprise. Great breakfast and lunch menu. Service is friendly. One of those places to enjoy on a lazy Saturday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I didn't see a parking lot for this cafe, so I parked along the side of the road. I saw the "open" sign lit up while driving past the building, but when I went to open the windowless "Entrance" door, it wouldn't budge. After I decided to use my shoulder to help me force the door open, it did eventually open. I got a lot of stares though, once the door finally did open. There wasn't a sign anywhere about whether to sit down or wait to be seated, so I looked around for the cashier's counter (on the other side of the restaurant) and waited in line to ask. Just sit down and someone will bring you a menu. The food came out quickly and was delicious - well worth the time to drive over to that part of town. Price is decent. Kinda disappointed though, that I ordered a hot chocolate, but it wasn't hot and I was not offered whipped cream as my friend did when she ordered one after I already received my cup.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food,large portions, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The breakfast here is wonderful. The portion are large and the food is good. I had the pancakes. My friend the omelet. It was huge. The service is always fast and friendly. I recommend this when in Hutch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place to eat but limited seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Loved the food and the hospitality. Doesn't look like a restaurant but really good. Maybe hard to find seating and certainly for larger party at a busy time. Limited hours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, Nc
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Unassuming but good home cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This restaurant in a former firehouse is unassuming in appearance, particularly from the outside where you have to search a bit for the door. They seem to specialize in breakfast anytime till they close at 2:30 p.m. but also feature daily specials, hot dogs, burgers, and country specials like chicken fried steak. My husband had the daily meatloaf special and he loved it; the meatloaf was quite tasty. A hot dog with chili and cheese came so loaded with chili that it was hard to find the dog. It was definitely and knife and fork special and one that was filling even without the bun. Fellow diners are extremely friendly. And how can you help but like a restaurant with a polished fire pole (today decorated with twining evergreen for Christmas) that disappears to the second level but which has a pair of descending fireman's boots visible?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.