We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A quick night's stop over on a long road trip. Not many options for dog friendly hotels in Hays Ks.. The hotel itself sits between two fast food places . The hotel is old and tired but worked for a one night stop. Old style AC/heating unit was hard to get to just the right comfortable level, had no real thermostat on it. Breakfast was ok. Check out was fast.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We hope that, the next time you come, we'll do everything just right in order to earn an "excellent" rating rather than "average." Please give us a call at your convenience to let us know what we could have done better besides the air-conditioning unit that you mentioned in your review. We're willing to work hard so that every single guest has an outstanding and memorable experience when they stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    42
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
25
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location close to restaurants, fuel stops, grocery store (Dillon's) a shopping mall and I70 highway. You can also visit several nearby attractions within a few miles of the hotel.

Two room doors give you access to your car to load bags and also to the inside of the hotel for breakfast. Just don't try to re-enter the outside door with your room key.......It has been disabled.

A good place to stop for I-70 road weary travelers.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks so much for your review. We're really glad that we were able to make a good impression, and hope to see you again soon! Yes we have very good location between two restaurants and many more right across . Also there are three gas stations within two blocks from our hotel. Interstate 70 being just couple of blocks it makes it great location. Only few of our rooms have two doors. Those rooms are assigned based on request upon reservation and availability. Thank you again for giving tripadvisor readers a helpful tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Main point: If you want to spend more at the 3 stars, then do but if you want all of the same with smaller breakfast, then stay here!
Great: Cleanliness
Great: Simple Breakfast Bonus was sausage and egg!!
Great: Service/Kindness by owner
Great: Pillows
OK: Thin Walls
Not Great: No laundry
Great: Allows pets for reasonable fee!
Excellent: Clean very nice new rooms
Will highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Wow, What a detail simplified review ? Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our future guest. Your review says it all. Thank you again for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

my room was nicely updated. the owner was very nice. very clean entry, room, bathroom was superb, bed was very comfy but firm. pillows were large. breakfast haf waffles, danish, toast, coffee, green and regular tea, best part was the hot sausage and egg. also appreciated the tobasco sauce. had milk, juice, ice water, cereal were name brand fruit loops and raisin bran. super clean! only draw back was no laundry. walls seemed thin as well so on a quiet night then it is ok but if it were realky busy then it might be an issue. no coffee in room. unless you really want to spend the extra money at a 3 star hotel i highly recommend this hotel. i will likely stay here again. also they allow pets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
So glad to hear that your stay with us was smooth from the check-in to the cleanliness of the room! I am glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary Hot breakfast . We know we have done our job well when every area exceeds your expectations and I will certainly pass along your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience with our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We had never stayed at an Econo Lodge and were just checking to see how the motel compared to other. It was a clean facility, with a friendly staff. A half mile from Interstate 70. Good value for your money. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Non-pet friendly (rooms not used for patrons with dogs or other pets) are available as well as non-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thanks for your glowing review of our hotel. We're glad to have been a positive part of your trip. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you're traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparks nv
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

My friend wanted to stay here and share a room for a reunion. We were there for 3 nights. I wasn't expecting much because the rate was very reasonable. The rooms were not fancy, just what I expected. But, the mattresses were good and everything was quite clean. It was quiet in the evening. Seems to be a family run place and they were quite friendly. The breakfast was substantial. Would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator that I saw and the stairs are narrow. If a person has issues with stairs they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We're really glad that we were able to make a good impression, and hope to see you again soon! Yes we do not have elevator. If someone is having an issue with the stairs then please ask us for a ground floor room. Room numbers are assigned based on request on reservation and availability. Thank you again for giving tripadvisor readers a helpful tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I chose this hotel based on the great rate and I was not expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised by the modern appearance of the rooms. My king bed was very comfortable with updated linens (not the gross coverlet normally found on economy hotel beds). The gentleman who checked us in was friendly and efficient. I left too early to enjoy the breakfast but overall I had an excellent experience and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room if you have lots of baggage--I do not think the hotel has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review about EconoLodge - Hays. The next time when you stay at EconoLodge - Hays, do plan to have a breakfast. We have wonderful selection on our breakfast item. Yes we do not have any elevator at our hotel. If anyone have problem with stairs please call hotel directly and ask for room on ground floor. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.