We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised, Highly Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised, Highly Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Main point: If you want to spend more at the 3 stars, then do but if you want all of the same with smaller breakfast, then stay here!
Great: Cleanliness
Great: Simple Breakfast Bonus was sausage and egg!!
Great: Service/Kindness by owner
Great: Pillows
OK: Thin Walls
Not Great: No laundry
Great: Allows pets for reasonable fee!
Excellent: Clean very nice new rooms
Will highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow, What a detail simplified review ? Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our future guest. Your review says it all. Thank you again for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
24
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

my room was nicely updated. the owner was very nice. very clean entry, room, bathroom was superb, bed was very comfy but firm. pillows were large. breakfast haf waffles, danish, toast, coffee, green and regular tea, best part was the hot sausage and egg. also appreciated the tobasco sauce. had milk, juice, ice water, cereal were name brand fruit loops and raisin bran. super clean! only draw back was no laundry. walls seemed thin as well so on a quiet night then it is ok but if it were realky busy then it might be an issue. no coffee in room. unless you really want to spend the extra money at a 3 star hotel i highly recommend this hotel. i will likely stay here again. also they allow pets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
So glad to hear that your stay with us was smooth from the check-in to the cleanliness of the room! I am glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary Hot breakfast . We know we have done our job well when every area exceeds your expectations and I will certainly pass along your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience with our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We had never stayed at an Econo Lodge and were just checking to see how the motel compared to other. It was a clean facility, with a friendly staff. A half mile from Interstate 70. Good value for your money. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Non-pet friendly (rooms not used for patrons with dogs or other pets) are available as well as non-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thanks for your glowing review of our hotel. We're glad to have been a positive part of your trip. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you're traveling through the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparks nv
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

My friend wanted to stay here and share a room for a reunion. We were there for 3 nights. I wasn't expecting much because the rate was very reasonable. The rooms were not fancy, just what I expected. But, the mattresses were good and everything was quite clean. It was quiet in the evening. Seems to be a family run place and they were quite friendly. The breakfast was substantial. Would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator that I saw and the stairs are narrow. If a person has issues with stairs they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We're really glad that we were able to make a good impression, and hope to see you again soon! Yes we do not have elevator. If someone is having an issue with the stairs then please ask us for a ground floor room. Room numbers are assigned based on request on reservation and availability. Thank you again for giving tripadvisor readers a helpful tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

I chose this hotel based on the great rate and I was not expecting much. I was very pleasantly surprised by the modern appearance of the rooms. My king bed was very comfortable with updated linens (not the gross coverlet normally found on economy hotel beds). The gentleman who checked us in was friendly and efficient. I left too early to enjoy the breakfast but overall I had an excellent experience and highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor room if you have lots of baggage--I do not think the hotel has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review about EconoLodge - Hays. The next time when you stay at EconoLodge - Hays, do plan to have a breakfast. We have wonderful selection on our breakfast item. Yes we do not have any elevator at our hotel. If anyone have problem with stairs please call hotel directly and ask for room on ground floor. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We unexpectedly stopped in Hays, as we didn't want to drive anymore that night. This Econo Lodge was great! Very clean, modern, reasonably priced and a great free breakfast in the morning! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you so much for staying at EconoLodge - Hays. I appreciate your great comments! We work very hard to make all our guest feel like they are home. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Appear to be run by a couple that live onsite. Friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning includes eggs and sausage as well as the usual waffle maker and rolls. Room was quiet and beds were nice. Some maintnance areas in the bathroom in my room. Poor caulking around the tub. My Uncle and Aunt's room had a sewage smell coming from their shower. No smell in my room however. Attendent recommended nice local restuarants and gave discount cards.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Thank you for your honest review of EconoLodge - Hays. We appreciate you choosing EconoLodge - Hays for your travel. We truly apologize for the odor in your uncle and aunt's room. Please do us a favor by calling us so that we knows the room number your uncle and aunt stayed in. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.