We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Kansas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Hays
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Oasis in Kansas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place wasn't just clean, it was spotless, sanitized even. Conventional room, but very well done. Everything you could ask for. Microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, all with decent grout in the bathroom. Don't ignore the delicious steak bomb next door either. The only reason I would go back to Kansas is to stay again at this motel.

Room Tip: I called ahead at about 4:00pm and didn't arrive until after 7:00pm. Always a good policy in ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the excellent review for our property.
Returning guests are the backbone of our business and we do appreciate the kind things you said about our property. Thanks again for wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
33
24
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The rooms were clean and we enjoyed our stay! Breakfast was great! This was our first stay in the EconoLodge chain and we liked it. Booking was done through choicehotels.com. Hoping to stay again in one of these chains again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at EconoLodge Hays. We greatly value your feedback and are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to continue to improve on the great foundations that we have and continue to provide wonderful experiences for our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Place is clearly old but is holding up. We got one of the older rooms and although well worn it was clean. Staff was friendly. Price of $52.99 (around $60 with taxes) was decent. No frills. Breakfast was simple but enough variety to please most. It is clear ownership is working to keep the place up. Good example of not letting an old hotel fall apart.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding hotel's friendly staff and cleanliness of room. I would also like to thank you for uploading few pictures of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Friendly staff, the place was clean and comfortable. Good value. Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was good and hot . There were plenty of nice restaurants near the hotel. I would stay at this hotel again when i am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing comments about EconoLodge - Hays ! I will surely let my staff knows about your compliments on cleanliness and also the breakfast host who is constantly restocking all the breakfast items. It was pleasure to hear that they made your stay exceptional. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Hays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I travel frequently and appreciate value, cleanliness and hospitality. This Lodge offers all of that and more. Staff is responsive, friendly and professional. Room was clean and well-appointed. Breakfast was hot and served well. Truly and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the south side, away from the elevator but close enough to access the Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a comment. Thank you for your kind words regarding our customer service and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. We also want to make one thing clear with everyone who is reading this review that we do not have elevator at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

As we were traveling we picked up a coupon book and found one for this motel, the reviews on line looked good so we stopped in. It was an overall great experience, the person at the desk was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and in excellent condition, the breakfast was excellent and the price was great, will stay again as we travel through the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing EconoLodge - Hays for your accomodation while passing through Hays. We greatly appreciate your business, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Hays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. I could tell my room had recently been renovated. Everything was very clean including the bathroom. There was a continental breakfast that included eggs, sausage links, waffles, fruit, cereal, biscuits, toast, and some pastries. The best part was the price...$52.99+tax! You can't beat that. I'll definitely be staying here again when I'm back up in Hays.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room if you want only an interior door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your great comments, we appreciaate you choosing EconoLodge in Hays, Kansas. Thanks for sharing your experience at breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3503 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601 (Formerly Knights Inn Hays)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Hays

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.