We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room needs updating. Furnishing getting old and worn. Bed...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Hays

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Hays to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days Inn Hays
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3205 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Hays
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    43
    30
    30
See reviews for
86
35
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Positive: best price for a hotel in Hays that has 3 or above TripAdvisor rating. Decent breakfast with waffles, hot cereal, biscuits with gravy and other typical items. There was a lady who was constantly present there taking care of things being replenished, cleaned. May be even too much presence as I knew I was being watched for leaving a spot of gravy on the counter :-)
Negative: the place needs maintenance and major overhaul. Equipment in the room and in the bathroom is outdated, some things not working.

Room Tip: Drop in, sleep, eat breakfast, go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review over your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our wide variety of breakfast along with our staff on hand to help and assist with keeping the area clean and customers happy. We currently have been remodeling our rooms to update them and would be very pleased to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Days Inn for two nights to attend a wedding in Hays. It’s a “no frills” place and looks far better in the pictures than in person. That said, it’s an economical choice, is very clean, the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, and the free breakfast was decent enough. Our room felt run down, though, and the mattress was horrible. The pool was along similar lines – very clean but with an overall old and weathered feel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
It is always appreciated when guests leave feedback, unfortunately, I don't believe this is our hotel. We have an outdoor pool, so it would have been closed up for the winter season at the time of your stay. Thank-you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburg, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We needed a pet friendly motel which it was. We were put over in the annex building and didn't question it. There was not good place to walk the dog or take him potty. That night the noisy was awful. Sounded like they were throwing things above us and people were outside the rooms having what appeared to be a party. I went to take the dog out at 11 and there was puke all over the sidewalk where I needed to walk down. Gross. I complained the next morning when we were checking out and was told they had a construction group there that had been warned once about their noise. The girl at the counter said she would write a report up. We were so disgusted we didn't even stay for breakfast there and went on down the road. I had left my phone in the car charging when we went in for breakfast and when we go back in the car I had a voice message from the management saying what we expierenced was totally unacceptable and they were not going to charge us for the room. I was told the dog area was behind the main building so why we were put over in the annex I will never figure out. Was so pleased that the management was on top of it and made compensation for the awful night. The rooms were older but clean except for the carpeting.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are very sorry to hear your stay was not top of the notch but we are glad we were able to compensate for what you had to experience. Thank you for the kind words about our staff and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had already made one night reservations, but auto transport wheel problem so had to stay extra night and went smoothly in billing. Great price, clean room, and customer service great!!! Got extra coffee deliverd to room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn05290, Manager at Days Inn Hays, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank-you for the wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. I am so glad that your hotel stay went smoothly considering the vehicle trouble you experienced. We appreciate you choosing the Days Inn Hays and hope to see you again on future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Hays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hays

Also Known As:
Days Inn Hays Hotel
Days Inn Hays Hotel Hays
Hays Days Inn
Address: 3205 Vine Street, Hays, KS 67601
Location: United States > Kansas > Hays
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Hays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hays 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn of Hays offers a relaxing nights stay surrounded by a taste of the Old West! We are conveniently located just off I-70, offering easy access to area shopping and dining. Visit old Fort Hays, Sternberg Museum and other historical sites including a live buffalo herd in Frontier Park. Enjoy the Beauty and Hospitality of the Great Plains! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Hays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Hays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Hays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.