We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for a date or with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gutch's Bar & Grill

Gutch's Bar & Grill
109 W 7th St, Hays, KS 67601-4428
785-623-4088
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 79 restaurants in Hays
Restaurant details
Salina, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good for a date or with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

They have a tower of beer if you're there with friends. A secluded room too for reservations and parties. They also have nice booths so you can take a date.

Pizza is very good. Best in town, but more a sit down and enjoy than a take out kind. Get the pizza if you're there its what this place is about.

Hays has some gems that other larger towns just don't

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    5
    7
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Where the old Dillon's was....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the frist place I have eaten in Hays and lack a comparison to local fair. My waitress was wonderful, fast, friendly, and on the ball; in short Morgan was great. The food was good. The fried mushrooms were tasty done to perfection. The Cesar salad was poor at best, the lettuce was sour, brown, and discolored. The pizzas were good a nice thin crust that is crispy. Topping were fresh and the correct amount were on the pie.

However if you are thinking it no place like home you are correct. Realky just a nice good pizza place. Not as outstanding as other ratings make it seem.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I dined at Gutch;s this weekend and the food was very good. What is important to me is service and I must say the service was good as well. Good place for casual dining.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Francis, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Impressed..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We've heard pretty good things about this resturant so we decided to try it, and we were greatly disappointed. The service was pretty poor, we were the only table she had and all of us were out of water for most of the night, and she was nowhere to be found. When we did finally get our food it was so salty that we wondered if someone accidently dropped the salt bottle in it. When the waitress did finally appear again she started to clear the table before we were finished. Overall we're not sure if we'll be giving this place a second chance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, a place you can relax and visit with friends over a good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I have never eaten bad food at Gutch's, and I have always received good service. I love their wood fired pizzas and their burgers. Be on the lookout for their specials because those are delicious as well. Prices are reasonable. This is a welcoming eatery to meet friends for a good meal and a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gutch's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gutch's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.